Citation Management Software: Organizing References

Mendeley allows you to share the full-text of PDFs with others by creating a private group.

Create a Private Group

• Navigate to the Groups section of Mendeley Reference Manager
• Click 'Create group'
• Type the group name
• Click the ellipses next to the group and select 'Manage Group'
•  Click 'Invite members' and enter their email addresses on separate lines
• Click 'Send invites'

Free account users are limited to creating five private groups, but can join an unlimited number of private groups. Each private group created in a free account is limited to 25 participants.

Please visit Mendeley's documentation page for more information on creating private groups

Copy References to Another Collection or Sub-Collection

• Click the checkbox next to the references you want to add to a collection or sub-collection
• Navigate to the Action Panel
• Click 'Organize'
• Click 'Add to Collection'
• Choose the collection or sub-collection
• Click 'Add'

Attach a PDF to a Reference

• Click the reference you want to add the PDF to
  • Option 1:
    • Click 'Get PDF'
  • Option 2:
    • Click 'Files' and manually add the PDF

Read and Annotate PDFs

• Click the reference you want to read or annotate
• Click 'Read'
• Annotate using various tools such as the highlight tool and the sticky note tool
  • Right click on a highlight to add it to your Mendeley Notebook

All sticky notes appear in the Annotation tab within the reference.

Mendeley Notebook

The Mendeley Notebook allows you to take notes and collect annotations from the PDF's you've highlighted while using Mendeley Reference Manager. You can create as many notebook pages as you want.

• Click 'Notebook'
• Click 'New page'
• Add a title and start typing
  • To add a highlight from a PDF to a Mendeley Notebook page, simply right click the highlight and select the notebook page where you'd like to save it

Please visit Mendeley's documentation page for more information on reading and annotating PDFs.