LibGuides: Diversity: Able-Bodiedness

Web Resources

Society for Disability Studies
The Society for Disability Studies (SDS) is a scholarly organization that is dedicated to the cause of promoting the disability studies as an academic discipline.
Disability History Museum
The Disability History Museum hosts a searchable Library, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
Disability Social History Project
Includes short biographies, a history timeline, bibliographies, and more.
Disability Online - The Disability Online Resource Centre
Disability Online offers a comprehensive resource center for all disability related resources, topics and services (please note that this site has been taken down and the link leads to the Web Archive cached version).
DRM Guide to Disability Resources on the Internet
"DisabilityResources.com disseminates information about books, pamphlets, magazines, newsletters, videos, databases, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, telephone hotlines and on-line services that provide free, inexpensive or hard-to-find information to help people with disabilities live independently."
Disability.gov
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations

Introduction

The terms people with disabilities and differently-abled people can refer to both physical disabilities and mental disabilities. This section contains a selection of resources relating to differently-abled people and discrimination against people with disabilities.

Articles

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

PsychINFO
The major index to the psychology literature. Coverage: 1887 to present.
YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the 360 link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the 360 Link to Full Text button.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Books & Movies

Here is a small sample of resources in the UI Library on this topic. Search the UI online catalog for more titles.

Challenging ableism, understanding disability, including adults with disabilities in workplaces and learning spaces
Call Number: LC4812.C435 2011
ISBN: 9781118218662
The blind advantage : how going blind made me a stronger principal and how including children with disabilities made our school better for everyone
Call Number: LC1201.H46 2011
ISBN: 9781612501109
Encyclopedia of disability
Call Number: Ref HV1568.E528 2006
ISBN: 9780761925651
We also dance
Call Number: DVD GV1799.2.W4 2007
This documentary film features five dancers who are visually impaired, amateur and professional, ranging in age from 7 to 80. We follow their experiences with ballet, country western, modern, ballroom and tap dancing.
Through deaf eyes
Call Number: DVD HV2530.T57 2007
ISBN: 9780793693382
Exploring nearly 200 years of Deaf life in America, this film presents the shared experiences of American history--family life, education, work, and community connections--from the perspective of deaf citizens. Interviews include community leaders, historians, and deaf Americans with diverse views on language use, technology, and identity. The documentary also takes a straightforward look at life for people who are part of the cultural-linguistic group who use American Sign Language and often define themselves as "Deaf" with a capital and cultural "D" and deaf people who, for a variety of reasons, do not identify with the Deaf cultural community. The history often shows that intersections between deaf and Deaf people are many and that oppression and discrimination are common experiences.

Research Guides

Diversity: Able-Bodiedness

Web Resources

Introduction

Articles

Finding Full Text Articles

Books & Movies