LibGuides: Diversity: Religion

Web Resources

Congress of World and Traditional Religions
Representatives from many different religions meet to discuss issues such as religious freedom, inter-faith dialog, and world security. Provides information and statistics on different religions and faiths.
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
"The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analysis and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world."
The Pluralism Project at Harvard University
"We document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, study the impact of religious diversity in civic life, and contextualize these findings within a global framework."
Listing of official Denominational Web sites
This specific page will link you to the Official Denominational Web Sites (official websites of many of the different religions in the world).
Virtual Religion Index
This Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research.

Introduction

This section contains a selection of general resources relating to religious diversity, also called religious pluralism. If you are looking for resources on a specific religion try searching the online catalog or one of the databases listed below.

Articles

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles. Subset of Academic Search Premier. Updated daily. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index, is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Produced by Whitston Publishing, Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Index is a unique, essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities.

Directory of Open Access Journals Browse
Directory and links to free, open-access, journals. Use the search box or subject tree to browse.

Movies

Religions of the world
Call Number: DVD BL80.2.R45 2003
6 discs. Narrated by Academy Award winner, Ben Kingsley, Religions of the World offers insight into the striking similarities and vast differences among the world's major religions as well as the unique perspective of its many individual cultures. Each episode presents a fresh look at the history of our world through the eyes of religion as well as an in-depth look at religion's role in creating cultural diversity.
Secrets of the Koran
Call Number: DVD BP130.4.D43 2006
ISBN: 9780767090681
Examines the history of the work that many outside Islam find impenetrable and mysterious, and explores the striking similarities and differences between the Koran and the Bible--and the ways in which Muslims believe the Koran corrects some of the Jewish and Christian scriptures. This film provides a guide to understanding the fundamental work that has shaped the Muslim faith for over 1,400 years, and continues to influence modern history.