LibGuides: Diversity: Class

Web Resources

First in the Family
A collection of audio slide shows from first-generation college students.
Institute for Research on Labor and Employment Library
From UC Berkeley. Includes digital collections, blogs, and research tools.
Labordoc
Labordoc, the UN International Labour Ooganization Library's database, contains references and full text access to the world's literature on the world of work. It covers all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods and the work-related aspects of economic and social development, human rights and technological change.
Diversity & Democracy
AAC&U’s periodical publication on diversity, global learning, and civic engagement in higher education.
Labor Archives & Research Center
"Few regions can rival the rich, lively labor history of the San Francisco Bay Area. This history is preserved in primary source and vintage history materials at the Labor Archives and Research Center (LARC)."
Open to the public.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Race, Ethnicity, Gender – Urban Institute
Urban Institute researchers examine gender inequalities, racial segregation, and the mutually reinforcing disparities they cause in education, housing, employment, income, and health care.

Introduction

Socioeconomics refer to both social and economic factors. This section contains a selection of resources relating to social class, economic conditions, inter-generational mobility, the labor movement, class consciousness, etc.

Articles

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

PsychINFO
The major index to the psychology literature. Coverage: 1887 to present.
YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the 360 link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the 360 Link to Full Text button.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Books & Movies

Here is a small sample of resources in the UI Library about social/economic class issues. Search the UI online catalog for more titles.

People like us : social class in America
Call Number: DVD HN57.P46 2001
How do income, family background, education, attitudes, aspirations, and even appearance mark someone as a member of a particular social class? Discusses how social class plays a role in the lives of all Americans, whether they live in Park Avenue penthouses, Appalachian trailer parks, bayou houseboats or suburban gated communities. Travels across the U.S. to present stories of family traditions, class mobility, and different lifestyle choices.
Tearing down the gates : confronting the class divide in American education
Call Number: LC213.2.S23 2007
ISBN: 9780520245884
Coming apart : the state of white America, 1960-2010
Call Number: E184.A1M895 2012
ISBN: 9780307453426
America's new working class : race, gender, and ethnicity in a biopolitical age
Call Number: HD8072.5.A757 2008
ISBN: 9780271032764
The two nations of black America
Call Number: DVD E185.8.T96 2008
This film measures the economic and social success of the civil rights movement and the gap between middle class and poor African-Americans through interviews with noted Afro-Americans and historical film footage.
The trouble with diversity : how we learned to love identity and ignore inequality
Call Number: HN90.S6M49 2006
ISBN: 9780805078411
On the edge : America's working poor
Call Number: DVD HC110.P6O6 2004
Several families describe their lives as members of the working poor community where one unexpected expense, sudden illness, or a missed payment could mean financial ruin.

Research Guides

Diversity: Class

Web Resources

Introduction

Articles

Finding Full Text Articles

Books & Movies