LibGuides: Diversity: Gender

Websites

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites
From the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. An excellent comprehensive collection of academic websites on women's issues. Organized by subject.
Women's Studies Resources
Hosted by the University of Iowa, collection of varies resources on women's studies. Organized by subject.
International Center for Research on Women
The National Council for Research on Women is a network of 120 leading research, policy and advocacy centers committed to improving the lives of women and girls. We provide the latest news, information and strategies needed to ensure fully informed debates, effective policies and inclusive practices
Transgender Issues | Williams Institute
Research on transgender issues from the Williams Institute, UCLA Law School.
National Center for Transgender Equality
Includes information on a issues, reports, and laws.
American Men's Studies Association
The American Men’s Studies Association advances the critical study of men and masculinities by encouraging the development of teaching, research and clinical practice in the field of men’s studies.
Men's Movements & Men's/Masculinity Studies
Links to different web resources, hosted by UC Santa Barbara.
IPL2 -- Gender and Sexuality
Collection of web links to different sites on gender and sexuality. Organized by subject.

Introduction

Gender refers to the social and psychological aspects of sex identity, as opposed to a person's biological sex. This section collects a sampling of resources dealing with gender, feminism, masculinity studies, sexuality studies, etc. See the tab for Sexual Orientation for related resources.

Books

Here is a small sample of books in the UI Library about gender and diversity issues. Search the UI online catalog for more titles.

Transgender history
Call Number: HQ77.9.S77 2008
ISBN: 9781580052245
Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide by Michele Antoinette Paludi
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
In this landmark three-volume set, a remarkable team of contributors draws on a wealth of contemporary research to discuss pivotal events, issues, and controversies related to the global women's movement, with chapters addressing reproductive rights, sexual slavery, harassment, forced marriage, mortality in birthing, domestic violence and rape, job discrimination, pay inequities, women in leadership positions, and other crucial issues. Together these volumes offer today's generation the real story of feminism and a call to action for the next wave of advocacy in education, religion, politics, the military, personal relationships, the workplace, and the home.
Guyland : the perilous world where boys become men
Call Number: HQ799.6.K56 2008
Masculinities in higher education : theoretical and practical considerations
Call Number: ebook
The psychology of gender
Call Number: BF692.2.P764 2004
ISBN: 9781572309838

Articles

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsychINFO
Scholarly index covering psychology and psychiatry which provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the 360 link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the 360 Link to Full Text button.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Research Guides

Diversity: Gender

Websites

Introduction

Books

Articles

Finding Full Text Articles