LibGuides: Diversity: Age

Web Resources

AARP
American Association of Retired Persons. This organization seeks to improve every aspect of living for older people.
AGE
American Aging Association is a a national not-for-profit organization. Biomedical, Medicine & Health fields.
NSCLC
National Senior Citizens Law Center advocates before the courts, Congress and federal agencies to promote the independence and well-being of low-income elderly and disabled Americans.

Introduction

The term ageism refers to a deep and profound prejudice against the elderly. In simple terms, ageism occurs when people stereotype others based on old age. Ageism occurs throughout society in varying degrees, in television, advertising, movies, stores, hospitals, and jobs.

Articles

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

PsychINFO
The major index to the psychology literature. Coverage: 1887 to present.
YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the 360 link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the 360 Link to Full Text button.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Books

This is just a small sample of the books on this topic. Search the UI online catalog for more titles.

Age descrimination : ageism in employment and service provision
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780566089275
Gay and lesbian elders : history, law, and identity politics in the United States
Call Number: KF4754.5.K58 2011
ISBN: 9781409402336
Encyclopedia of ageism
Call Number: HQ1061.E63 2005
ISBN: 9780789018892

Research Guides

Diversity: Age

Web Resources

Introduction

Articles

Finding Full Text Articles

Books