LibGuides: Diversity: Sexual Orientation

UI Resources

LGBTQA Office at UI

Web Resources

LGBT Religious Archives Network
"A resource center and information clearinghouse for the history of LGBT religious movements."
The Transgender Law and Policy Institute
TLPI brings experts and advocates together to work on law and policy initiatives designed to advance transgender equality. Website has resources on various topics.
Williams Institute
"The Williams Institute advances sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship, and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public."
IPL2 -- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender
Collection of links to websites on LGBT issues.
Research and Reports- GSA Network
"In this section, you’ll find important research and reports about LGBT issues in education. Use this research to help you advocate for change in your school."

Introduction

LGBTQIA stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual . This acronym represents what has come to be recognized as a standard range of sexual and gender identity-based individuals and groups. This section contains a selection of resources relating to LGBTQIA issues and topics.

Articles

PsychINFO
The major index to the psychology literature. Coverage: 1887 to present.

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the 360 link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the 360 Link to Full Text button.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Books & Movies

Here is a small sample of resources in the UI Library about LGBTQIA issues. Search the UI online catalog for more titles.

Enclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Marc Stein
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780684314273
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Out of the past
Call Number: Women's Center DVD HQ76.8.U5O97 2004
ISBN: 9781578482009
Reviews the struggle for lesbian and gay rights in the United States. Features the struggle of the Gay Straight Alliance at East High School in Salt Lake City.
Before Stonewall : the making of a gay and lesbian community
Call Number: Women's Center DVD HQ76.5.B44 2000
A social, political and cultural history of homosexuality in America from the 1920s to 1969. Traces the beginning of the Gay Liberation Movement after a police raid on Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York City, and the three-day riot that followed.
Trembling before G-d = Le-fanekha bi-reʻadah
Call Number: DVD HQ75.15.T74 2003 Discs 1-2
ISBN: 9781567303216
A documentary built around personal stories of gay and lesbian Hasidic and Orthodox Jews. Portrays people who face a profound dilemma - how to reconcile their passion for Judaism with the biblical prohibitions against homosexuality. Includes interviews with closeted and out gay Orthodox and Hasidic Jews, including the first openly gay Orthodox rabbis, Steven Greenberg.
Trans generation
Call Number: DVD HQ77.7.T73 2006
ISBN: 9780767088633
College is often a place for dramatic self-invention. What could be a more dramatic than a sex change? This mini-series follows four transsexuals, two male-to-female and two female-to-male, as they negotiate the twin minefields of college and gender-reassignment surgery. Gabbie at the University of Colorado, Lucas at Smith College, Raci at Cal State Los Angeles, and Fulbright Scholar T.J., a Michigan State University grad student, are all exceptionally smart people. All four run into problems as various as their personalities, although a common thread is their volatile, complex relationships with their parents. What TransGeneration wants most is a world where people like Lucas, T.J., Raci, and Gabbie are not whispered about, but are welcomed with open minds and open arms.
Encyclopedia of contemporary LGBTQ literature of the United States
Call Number: Ref PS153.S39E53 2009
ISBN: 9780313348594

Research Guides