Library Employee Resources: Reference

The signs for the Reference Desk sign holders can be found here:

S:\Library\shared\marketing-taskforce\reference signs

This year, U of I Library workshop registrants are being asked to contact the Reference Desk via chat for the Zoom link if they register within 1 hour of the event start time. The automatic reminder emails with the Zoom information are usually sent 24 hours in advance, meaning those who register on the same day as the workshop might not receive the link.

Please send any reserves questions/issues directly to the libreserve@uidaho.edu reflector, as that goes to a team of people and will be answered more quickly. It also helps us as a team keep an eye on the kinds of questions people have regarding reserves and e-reserves.

ITS Contact Info
Phone: 208-885-4357 (HELP)
Email: support@uidaho.edu

Use the help function within Canvas or reach out to CETL employees

A distance student can set up a summit account through a school close to them if there are on the RSF list. you can check that here that allows them to get the items quicker and drop the books off there instead of pay to mail back.

Dual credit students have all the same access as any vandal, they get a V# and a UI email. If they forget about it though, then we would have to refer them to ITS. They should have full access to library resources using their accounts.

Study hours are when a student needs to have a log of when they were studying/working. Students that are part of ROTC and the Vandal Gateway program are required to have supervised study hours.

Protocol: Direct them to Circ to check-in and out. One of the desk workers or a supervisor will sign their sheets.

If someone wants to donate an item, the donation slips are in a drawer in the left side of the cabinets. Leave the materials on Kelly's desk.

When you get a request from an incarcerated student, add the files to the Reference Desk's folder

Fax Machine: No, but the Copy Print Center does offer faxing (in 2022 it costs $2/fax). 

Copy Machine: No but have scanners that you can then print

Scissors, Tape, Ruler, and other similar materials: Reference Desk or Circulation (Student Supply Drawer)

Calculators, Dry Erase Markers: Check out from Circulation

Classrooms with Projectors: 1st Floor Classroom

Study Rooms on Campus (Reservable): 3 Team Rooms on Library 1st Floor, 2 Study Rooms on Library 3rd Floor, 2 Study Rooms in Education Building (must be reserved the day before through Suzie at the Curriculum Center)

Study Rooms on Campus (1st Come, 1st Served): 1st Floor Team Rooms when not reserved, Study Rooms on 3rd & 4th Floors, Team Rooms in Education Building

Group Study Room with Screens: 1st Floor Classroom (after business hours), the 2 Team Rooms that are reservable in the Education Building (see above)

Found in: Storage-Library > shared > User_and_Research_Services > Reference > Reference Accounts .

--

General overview:

• Click the link for Reference Accounts
• Enter your Vandal username and password (if prompted)
• Click the Reference passwords section
• Hit ‘enter’ on your keyboard,
• Type the following password to access the Wiki’s password list: Ask Us at the desk! [with spaces between words, the A and the U capitalized, and an exclamation point at the end].

--

The Introduction section includes two pages: ‘Reference Accounts Introduction’ and ‘Password Best Practices’. Evan mostly copied and pasted this information from the Social Media group’s page and we can update these to reflect the reference desk context.

The Reference passwords section is encrypted/password protected. This is where our Wiki passwords are stored and it includes two pages: ‘Reference password list’ and ‘Old passwords from Wiki’. The password to access this section and the two associated pages is: Ask Us at the desk! [with spaces between words, the A and the U capitalized, and an exclamation point at the end].

Voicemail: voice recordings appear on phone and are sent as voice recording to libref@uidaho.edu

Answering voicemail: 

• Delete voicemail off of phone after answering (see Wiki for pin)
• Once answered, move the email with the voice recording to the done folder
• Last Friday shift, make sure that all voicemails are deleted off of phone

Voicemail Actions:

1: Repeat message
2: Save message
3: Delete message
4: Reply to message
5: Forward message
6: Mark message as new
7: Restart message
#: Fast forward to end of message
*: Cancel/Backup
0: Help

Beginning Monday, 9/20/21, Tutoring will be using the second floor classroom from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. Monday – Thursday for specific course review sessions. Sessions may vary in size and masks will be required, as in all learning spaces; Circulation will be managing access to the space for tutors (thank you!).

• Curriculum Center Library: Monday - Friday, 10am to 3pm
  • Books can be checked out there, or patrons may place requests for Curriculum Center books to be picked up here at the Main Library.
• ALCP (American Language and Culture Program): Monday - Friday, 8am to 5pm
  • Books can be checked out there, or patrons may place requests for ALCP books to be picked up here at the Main Library.
• Asian Studies Collection (formerly Confucius Institute): Admin Building 204, Monday - Friday, 8:30am to 4:30pm
  • Books can be checked out there, or patrons may place requests for the books to be picked up here at the Main Library. You can also contact Abi Margell (amargell@uidaho.edu, 5-7110) to ensure staff availability.
• Herbarium: Tuesday and Wednesday 8-5 and by appointment
  • Books can be checked out there, or patrons may place requests for Herbarium books to be picked up here at the Main Library.
• Anthropology Lab: Lab hours vary, so please contact the 208-885-1771 for questions about access.
  • These books are all non-circulating

In case you get any questions, here’s a quick heads up to say that we’re going to be doing some advertising for the Academic Impressions database soon and hopefully generating some campus-wide interest. I announced this last spring, but we’re about to do a big push so I want to refresh everyone's memories.

Quick summary: this is funded by the Provost’s office but administered by the Library. It doesn’t go through the proxy server – instead you log in on the site using your Vandal ID (Instructions are here: https://libguides.uidaho.edu/academicimpressions). The database focuses on leadership, personal development, and skills-based training opportunities and is open to U of I faculty, staff, and students. If people have questions, feel free to refer them to Niecie Washington (niecie@academicimpressions.com), our account rep.

SciFinder requires a separate login account. You will need to access the database through our proxy server by following this link:
https://uidaho.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder-n.cas.org

First, you will have to log into the proxy using your normal U of I login (if you aren't logged in already, via the same system as logging into email, etc).

Second, you will see the SciFinder login page. If you have already registered in the past, you can click the "Forgot Username or Password?" link to try to reactivate your account.
 
If that doesn't work, please follow this link to register again for SciFinder under our subscription:
https://uidaho.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7F1A5F55-86F3-F014-11EB-F7FCAE3060A8

Chat

At the beginning of each reference shift, log in to LibAnswers and LibChat. Click here for a detailed overview of how to use chat.

Text

When there is a text message, it will appear as a number in the Dashboard (see below)

Text Messages register as Tickets at the bottom of the dashboard. Select the Ticket. By selecting it, you become the "Owner" of it. You then have space for 2 sets of 160 characters to answer. If you need more space for answers, you will have to find the closed ticket

DON'T FORGET TO ADD EACH INTERACTION TO ANALYTICS! IT IS NOT AUTOMATIC!

Study Rooms must be booked 8 hours in advance.

Making exceptions:

Making an exception is up to your personal discretion although it should lean more towards a faculty member who needs a place to have a meeting. If you make an exception you need to reprint the schedule and post it on the Study Room door.

How to add a new reservation:

1. Go to LibCal
2. On the top bar select Spaces
   
3. Then change the dropdown for Showing Availability in Category to First Floor Group Study Rooms
   
4. Add a new reservation by selecting the desired time in the Calendar Bar or select Add Booking
   

How to Print the Schedule (only necessary day-of):

1. Select Print button
2. Ensure that only Last Name and Print each Space on separate page
   
3. Select Print
4. Using the print options, print only the page for the Study Room that you added a reservation to

Process for Thesis/Dissertation Digitization Requests

The U of I Library will make every effort to digitize theses and dissertations, upon request, so long as they are held in our collection and authored by University of Idaho students. Digitization requests can come from anyone, including community members.

When a digitization request is received from someone with a UofI email:

1. While they are logged in, have the patron go to the Primo record of the thesis/dissertation
2. Have them choose "Digitization Request" from the Request Options under Get it.
3. ILL will get the request and send the thesis/dissertation directly to the patron

When a digitization request is received from a community member:

1. The reference librarian finds the item in our catalog and confirms that it is a U of I thesis/dissertation
   1. If it is not a U of I thesis/dissertation, the reference librarian notifies the patron that digitization is not an option
2. The reference librarian emails the record permalink and the patron’s contact information to ILL (libill@uidaho.edu)
   1. The reference librarian either copies the patron on this email or sends them a separate email with this update
3. The thesis/dissertation is digitized and made available in our Theses and Dissertations Database (ETDs)
4. ILL shares a link to the digitized thesis with the patron and Rami Attebury

If you get any questions about Kanopy, the statement below or a similar one can serve as your response:

Our Kanopy subscription has changed a little bit this year. Rather than having access to all the films all the time, when you select a film, it will have to be approved by the library before it is purchased. We will be approving all faculty requests, so you will definitely get it, but I wanted to let you know that access may not be as instantaneous as you’re used to—so please do take a moment to go through in advance and select your titles so that we can approve them in time for your classes. I believe access, once purchased, will be available for a calendar year.

You should be able to view Swank films to which the library has access if you are logged in to the website. The library only has access to the 250 most popular films (based on national college and university viewing statistics) through SWANK, so if you are trying to access a title we don’t have, you’ll only be able to watch a trailer. If there is a specific film you’d like that we don’t have, please let us know.

Submitting a Kanopy Request

If someone would like to access to a video on Kanopy that we don't currently have access to, they do so through the form on Kanopy. The request is routed to Jodi. She orders the film and will notify the requestor when it is available. It usually takes a few hours, but it has taken as long as 24 hours to get the content activated.If user does not wish to use the form, they can email requests to their liaison or to Jodi.

 if user is looking at our instance of Kanopy, https://uidaho.kanopy.com/, the titles that display in the carousel area are the titles that are available to us. If user browses by subject, for example in Business, they will see 7 videos. Scroll down further and there are ‘1121 videos you can request for your library’. If you select one of these, Kanopy will present the request form.