Skip to main content

Research Guides

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences: GSCC Report FY 17/18

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - FY 2017/18 Report

During the Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 semester the Gary Strong Curriculum Center was open Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 5pm and Friday from 8:00am-4:00pm. The Curriculum Center has one full-time staff person and the Education Librarian assigned from the main library for 20 hours a week. The Education Librarian was available in the Curriculum Center Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and by appointment. The data reported below is from  July 1st, 2017 to May 30th, 2018 (June data was unavailable).

Curriculum Center webpagehttp://www.lib.uidaho.edu/services/curriculumcenter.html 

Curriculum Center Library guide:  http://libguides.uidaho.edu/GSCC

Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 Projects and Accomplishments

These were projects and accomplishments that the Curriculum Center worked on during the Fall 2017 amd Spring 2018 semesters:

  • Received and processed new curriculum materials for the Social Sciences in October 2017. 
  • Planned and held 2nd annual Banned Book Week outreach:  https://libguides.uidaho.edu/bannedbooks 
  • Moved duplicate Praxis study guides to main curriculum center collection
  • Received the remaining furniture to complete space and new drop box / printer console.
  • Decided to end the GIS space assessment project.
  • Continued to work on new workflow documentation and instructions.
  • Attended departmental meetings in most areas of College of Education
  • Suspended project to lend materials to main Library for display in Fall semester because of library remodel.
  • The new printer was jamming in Fall -- replacement printer has worked more smoothly
  • Held Louis Braille "birthday" outreach event for Talking Book Service with Doceo Center and Disability Services
  • Assisted the Graduate & Professional Student Association of ASUI with diversity reading event 
  • Added OpenStax Open Education Resources to curriculum collection
  • Added new books to the curriculum center on:
    • Disability
    • Immigrants
    • Native American / Tribes / Indigenous Peoples
    • Women in STEM
    • Award winners
  • Hired an additional student to help assist with lunch coverage. Both student workers have graduated, will have to hire new students for Fall 2018
  • Promoted Libraries Linking Idaho (LiLI) resources with a poster and display LiLI 
  • Promoted Poetry month in April
  • Held DDS workshop series:
    • What Works Clearing House / ERIC /
    • Novelist
    • LILI
    • Getting Started with OERs

 

Education Library Instruction - FY 2017/18

The Curriculum Center and Education Librarian are committed to contributing to the learning mission of the University of Idaho. The Library offers library instruction for both undergraduate and graduate students geared toward increasing information literacy and research skills as outlined in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education

In the FY 2017/18, the Education librarian taught 10 library instruction sessions specifically for College of Education, Health & Human Sciences classes.  These sessions reached 305 students. During the Fall semester, instruction reached approximately 25% of CoEHHS students enrolled. Not included in the statistics are two ISEM 101 courses that were also taught.

Data Source(s): Instruction data from library instruction reporting spreadsheet. Enrollment data is from the University of Idaho Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Office 

For comparison the instruction statistics for FY 2016/17 are provided. Note the increase in percentage of CoEHHS students reached via library instruction from 20% (FY16/17) to 25% (FY17/18).

Data Source(s): Instruction data from library instruction reporting spreadsheet. Enrollment data is from the University of Idaho Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Office 

Patron interactions FY 2017/18

The Curriculum Center offers assistance to students, faculty, staff, and community members to meet their information, research, and learning needs. 

There were 450 direct patron interactions recorded in the Reference Analytics tool in FY 2017/18. These interactions included answering questions from patrons, providing directions, and assisting with research-related needs. The majority of these encounters were with students (69%) and faculty (10%). 

In FY 2016/17, a total of 613 interactions were recorded indicating a decline of 163 recorded actions in 2017/18. This decline could be resulting from not properly recording transactions or from actual lack of interaction at the service point. A new student was hired during the Spring semester and might not have been properly trained regarding documenting statistics. This will be monitored moving forward.

Below is a breakdown of interaction by patron type for FY 2017/18:

Data source: LibAnswers 

In Spring 2018, there were 154 direct patron actions recorded in the LibAnswers system at the Gary Strong Curriculum Center. 70% of these interactions were with students.

Data source: LibAnswers

There were 296 direct patron interactions recorded in the Reference Analytics tool in Fall of 2017. These interactions included answering questions from patrons, providing directions, and assisting with research-related needs. The majority of these encounters were with students (69%). Below is a breakdown of interaction by patron type for Fall 2017:

Data source: LibAnswers

Curriculum Center Space Usage 2017/18

The Curriculum Center does not have an automated gate counter to gather data on how many patrons visit the space.  In the 2017/18, we recorded our observations of space usage into a Google spreadsheet.

Overall there were 9553 observations for patrons using the Curriculum Center in FY 2017/18. In Spring 2018, there were 4813 observations. There were 4740 observations of patrons using the Curriculum Center in Fall 2017

Note the decline in Paper Jams once the printer was replaced.

In FY 2016/17 there was a total of 6731 observations recorded, indicating an increase in recorded observations especially noted in Computer Use, Group Study, and Circulation interactions.

Below is breakdown by type of usage (note: statistics beyond June 4th are not include):

In Spring 2018, there were 4813 observations of patrons using the Curriculum Center. Below is a breakdown of the type of usage:

Data source: Curriculum Center Google Spreadsheet

There were 4740 observations of patrons using the Curriculum Center in Fall 2017.  Below is breakdown by type of usage:

Data source: Curriculum Center Google Spreadsheet

Curriculum Center Collections and Materials FY 2017/18

The Curriculum Center contains K-12 curriculum materials for the State of Idaho, reading and research materials that support College of Education programs, and technology such as laptops, iPad, and other devices to support student/faculty needs. 

At the end of the Spring 2018, the Curriculum Center had 21,243  items in its collection which is a decrease of 182 items from Spring 2017 (21,425).

A total of 2,285 items circulated in FY 2017/18. 1,134 items circulated in Spring 2018. 1,251 items from the Curriculum Center circulated in Fall 2017.

In FY 2016/17 the Curriculum Center circulated 2,884 materials. Compared to 2016/17, circulation for 2017/2018 has decreased by 649 transactions. A small contribution to this decline would be the change to unlocking the team rooms and not requiring that patron check out a team room box for every use. 

Overall circulation for 2017/18 is listed below (note: June circulation figures are not available when report written):

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center mainly circulates three types of items. 1. K-12 Curriculum Materials adopted by the State of Idaho. 2. Items found in the Curriculum Center's main collection that support reading, literacy development, and education research. 3. Materials put on Reserves for limited duration checkout such as technology, Praxis study aids, and course-related readings. Overall 2017/18 circulation by collection:

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

For comparison by semester:

Spring 2018 circulation of items is 1,134:

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2017 circulation total of 1251 Items:

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center, in collaboration with the Doceo Center, circulates various technology and equipment to aid in learning, research, and teaching. These items include laptops, ipads, digital tools, and also physical items like tripods and markers.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

 

 

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Education Items Circulation in Main Collection FY 2017/18

The main library maintains a collection of education monographs and research materials found  on the 3rd floor in sections L through LT of the Library of Congress Classification System. In the Fall of 2017, the library recorded 993 items circulated from this collection and 833 items in the Spring of 2018 (Note reporting for June incomplete).

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

College of Education Team Room Checkouts FY 2017/18

The Curriculum Center coordinated circulation of Team Room boxes for the study spaces in the College of Education. These boxes were checked out 91 times during Fall 2017 and 162 times in Spring 2018. During the Spring 2017 semester the study rooms were unlocked during the day so the Team Room boxes are no longer a complete measure of usage.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Education Collection Development FY 2017/18

The Library undertakes collection development to build lasting and useful materials for College of Education, Health & Human Sciences students, faculty, and researchers. In FY 2017/18, 842 items were added to the Curriculum Center and main library collection. In Fall 2017, 508 items were added and in Spring 2018, 334 items were added. In the Fall of 2017, new curriculum adoption materials for the Social Sciences arrived from publishers for the 5 year adoption cycle and 356 items were added in curricular materials during this period and 175 items added in Spring 2018..In the main library or the LC subject area of Education, 120 books were added in Fall and 142 items in Spring. The Education librarian purchases materials from funds designated for three areas - Education, Physical Education, and Curriculum Center.

New Education Books

Loading ...

Education Library Research Guides