Skip to main content

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Semester report on activities in the Curriculum Center

About the Carter G. Woodson Book Award

The National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) established the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards for the most distinguished books appropriate for young readers that depict ethnicity in the United States. First presented in 1974, this award is intended to “encourage the writing, publishing, and dissemination of outstanding social studies books for young readers that treat topics related to ethnic minorities and race relations sensitively and accurately.” Books relating to ethnic minorities and the authors of such books rarely receive the recognition they merit from professional organizations. By sponsoring the Carter G. Woodson Awards, NCSS gives wide recognition to and encourages these authors and publishers.


 The awards are given in three different categories: Elementary Level (Grades K-6); Middle Level (Grades 5-8); and Secondary Level (Grades 7-12)

Award Winners at the Curriculum Center or Main Library

Honor Books at the Curriculum Center or Main Library