Skip to main content

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Semester report on activities in the Curriculum Center

Stonewall Awards at the Curriculum Center or Main Library

Stonewall Award

The Stonewall Book Awards are a set of three literary awards (Barbara Gittings Literature Award, Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award, and Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children's and Young Adult Literature Award) that annually recognize "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience" in English-language books published in the U.S.They are sponsored by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) and have been part of the American Library Association awards program, now termed ALA Book, Print & Media Awards, since 1986 as the single Gay Book Award. Children's and Young Adult Winners have been awarded since 2010.

Stonewall Awards cont.