LibGuides: EDCI 302 Teaching Culturally Diverse Learners: Start Here

Introduction

Welcome. Use this research guide to help locate resources for EDCI 302: Teaching Culturally Diverse Learners. Navigate to various topics using the tabs at the top of this guide.

Education Databases for University Students

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

Education Index Retrospective

Education Index Retrospective searches over 500 education-related periodicals from the time period 1929-1983.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Additional Culturally Diverse Research Databases

To find peer-reviewed (also called scholarly or academic) articles the best place to look are the library databases. Most of these databases also have popular (newspaper and magazine) articles as well as reports, books, reviews and more.

Annual Review of Sociology
Provides summaries of current research, a great place to find the most relevant literature on your topic. In the advanced search, be sure to narrow to "Sociology" by first clicking on "in selected journals."
PsycArticles
From the main search page, enter a keyword or the name of an instrument into the search box. In the adjacent box which reads Select a Field (optional), use the drop down menu to select the field TM Tests & Measures.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one.
Sociological Abstracts
Main, comprehensive index to the discipline. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers
YouTube PsychINFO Channel
YouTube's PsycINFO channel provides video tutorials for the PsycINFO database.
PsychINFO
Scholarly index covering psychology and psychiatry which provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.

EDCI 302 Paper Rubric - Vanessa E. Anthony-Stevens

(a) RESEARCH PAPER: You will select a topic relevant to multiculturalism and diversity in schooling. Based on your topic (e.g. English language learners, gender inequity, socioeconomic disadvantage, etc.), you will write a research paper reviewing a minimum of four peer-reviewed research articles on your issue of cultural and linguistic diversity in schooling (3-4 pages). (50 points).

CATEGORY	A	B	C
Explanation of rational and clear statement of research question	Thorough explanation of why this topic was chosen. Research question was clearly stated.	Explanation of topic choice is addressed. But little or no mention of research question guiding the literature.	Rational and research question guiding the literature review are unclear.
Review of research related to equity and culturally responsive education	Thorough examination of topic based on more than one dimension of scholarly research. Findings are articulated with equity in mind.	Examination of topic based on one dimension of scholarly research. Findings loosely articulated with equity in mind.	Limited examination of topic based on scholarly research. Findings not clearly articulated with equity in mind.
Connection to teaching and better supporting students	Thorough explanation of research findings. Research findings are explicitly related to application for improving teaching.	General explanation of research findings. Research findings are generally, related to application for improving teaching. Could use more detail.	Minimal or no explanation of research findings. Unclear relationship to application for improving teacher.
Review of four peer reviewed sources with clear summary of findings	Four peer reviewed sources. Each source is properly cited.	One of four sources not peer reviewed and/or not properly cited.	Two or more sources not peer reviewed and/or not properly cited.

Multicultural YA Literature

Huyck, David and Sarah Park Dahlen. (2019 June 19). Diversity in Children’s Books 2018. sarahpark.com blog. Created in consultation with Edith Campbell, Molly Beth Griffin, K. T. Horning, Debbie Reese, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, and Madeline Tyner, with statistics compiled by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center, School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison: https://ccbc.education.wisc.edu/literature-resources/ccbc-diversity-statistics/books-by-about-poc-fnn/. Retrieved from https://readingspark.wordpress.com/2019/06/19/picture-this-diversity-in-childrens-books-2018-infographic/.

Check out more Diversity Stats from the Cooperative Children's Books Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison