LibGuides: Journalism and Mass Media: Find Articles

Research Tip

When searching in Google or another search engine, using a country's specific government domain extension can help you restrict your results to sources from a particular country's government websites.

For example: "climate change" site:.gov would show you results from U.S. government websites that mentioned "climate change".

If the full-text of an article isn't available, submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request and we will get the PDF for you!

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed journal articles as well as magazines and trade publications in the areas of communications, media, and related disciplines.
CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCAs six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Search within over 670 journals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and technology
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the "Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media," which contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies.
Includes * Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, which contains thousands of listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. * National Faculty Directory, which allows users to find names, departmental affiliations and institutional addresses of professionals at American and Canadian colleges and universities. * Statistics Sources, which covers more than 20,000 specific subjects, incorporating more than 155,000 citations and more than 1,100 sources. Statistics Sources provides the widest possible range of print and nonprint, published and unpublished, and electronic and other forms of U.S. and international statistical data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial and other topics.

U of I Library: Databases by Subject
Browse different subject areas to select a database that reflects your topic or research question.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly and peer-reviewed journals within various disciplines.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Coverage: 1975-present for some periodicals

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To get the full-text of articles, click the three parallel horizontal lines, then click 'Settings' and 'Library Links,' search for 'University of Idaho', and click 'Save.'

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR is very useful if you are interested in historic content.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes peer-reviewed journals and business periodicals as well as economic reports, company profiles, and industry reports.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Dated back to 1910.

Newspaper Databases

The University of Idaho Library also has various current and historic newspapers in print on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes full-text access to local, national, and international newspapers; television and radio broadcasts; and newswires and blogs.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users

New York Times
Sign-up for student access to the New York Times online. You'll need to renew your subscription once each year.

America's News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes current and archived coverage of U.S. newspapers and provides access to multiple Idaho and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Also contains nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
America's Historical Newspapers - Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to historical newspapers from Washington, Oregon and Idaho from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Titles included in the archive: Blackfoot Register 1880-1886 Idaho Statesman 1864-1922 Idaho Falls Times 1891-1920 Idaho Register 1886-1916 Owyhee Avalance 1865-1900 Twin Falls News 1918-1922 Oregon State Journal 1864-1880 Democratic Standard (Portland) 1854-1859 Oregonian 1861-1922 Bellingham Herald 1903-1922 Morning Olympian 1891-1922 Olympia Record 1902-1922 Hokubei Jiji (Seattle) 1916-1918 Tacoma Daily News 1890-1898

Research Guides

Journalism and Mass Media: Find Articles

Research Tip

Library Resources for JAMM

Newspaper Databases

Use Interlibrary Loan