Government Information: Statistics

We know you'll likely use it anyway, so try an Advanced Google search by limiting the domain to ".gov" and including the word "statistics" in your search.

Provides population, housing, economic, and geographic census data.

Commonly used Census resources.

Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

A demographic data visualization and research website designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2015.

The official inventory of public parks and other protected open space. With more than 3 billion acres in 150,000 holdings, the spatial data in PAD-US represents public lands held in trust by thousands of national, State and regional/local governments, as well as non-profit conservation organizations.

Reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.

DOE and EPA have developed this fuel economy website which feature updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. The website also contains vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings and provides links to car buying websites.

The BEA provides information related to regional, national, and international business. They also offer industry information and interactive datasets.

Provides statistical information from the United States Department of Labor.

Provides easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system.

Provides economic data.

1600s-2000s: This guide will help you find full text primary sources showing retail prices for common items or "necessities of life." Prices for foods, clothing, household items, fuels for heat and transportation, and fees for services fall within the domain of this guide. We also link to documents showing the average costs of major purchases -- for example, a house, a car, or a college education.

ChildStat.gov reflects the efforts of 23 federal agencies to collect, analyze, and report data on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being. It provides the most recent statistics on children and families in the United States across 41 report indicators, covering a range of domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Provides circuit and district court statistics.

Provides access to the NTIS content collection. It contains over 3 million records with over 900K full-text reports.