Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Music Online
Offers full-text searching and updated content for the following works:
- The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
- The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
- The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
- The Grove Dictionary of American Music
- The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instrumentsd
- The Oxford Companion to Music
- The Oxford Dicationary of Music
Selected Print Reference
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Call Number: Ref ML100.G885 2001
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Coverage of all forms of music, though strongest in Western art music. Illustrated with maps, photographs, and musical examples. Note that all content is included (often in updated form) in Oxford Music Online package.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart by
Call Number: Ref ML100.M92 1994
Classic German-language reference work for music. Grove and MGG don't always agree 100% on everything, so good place to check to get a complete picture. Even if you can't read German, the complete works lists for composers are extremely valuable.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Call Number: Ref ML100.G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Excellent source for information on music from around the globe. Multi-volume set, volumes arranged by geographical area.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66G84 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-20
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by
Call Number: ML100.A64 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-28
Encyclopedia-length articles alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments.