Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Music: Articles

Finding Fulltext Articles

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article.  Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext. 

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need an article that's not available at the UI Library, use the library's free Interlibrary Loan service to request it.

You can also request books and other research materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Google Scholar Search

Key Databases for Finding Music Articles

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Covers all types of publications on music in all media. RILM includes over 570,000 records from 151 different countries, with over 33,000 new records added every year. Primary coverage is from 1967 to present with selected publications are indexed as far back as 1835. This is an index, meaning that we may or may not have access to resources in search results. See the boxes on the left of this page for more information.



 

JSTOR

Includes many excellent music resources among its over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The UI subscription includes all JSTOR titles with the exception of the Ireland Collection and 19th Century British Pamphlets. With a few excepions, JSTOR titles do not include current issues. There’s a ’moving wall’ of 3-5 years, depending on title, for which the latest issues are not available.


Academic Search Premier

Some good music resources mixed in with many other subjects, this is a good general index to start your research. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.

 

Refine Your Database Search

To find literature about a topic, we first need identify the keywords associated with the topic.

Sample Topic: How was Claudio Monteverdi's compositional style influenced by the techniques of both Renaissance and Baroque music?

Main keywords Related keywords
Monteverdi Italian composer
compositional style texture, madrigal, opera
Renaissance polyphony, mass, motet
Baroque basso continuo, figured bass

Then to create a search string, select specific keywords and combine them using Boolean connectors (or operators).

When searching, Boolean connectors allow you to "tell" a Library resource what each result must or must not include.

Boolean Example Description
"Quotation marks" "figured bass" Each result will contain the exact phrase included in the quotes

AND

Google Scholar: A space = AND

"figured bass" AND Monteverdi

Google Scholar: "figured bass" Monteverdi

Each result will contain all keywords
OR + parentheses () ("figured bass" OR "basso continuo") Each result will contain at least one of the keywords connected by OR and included in the parentheses
NOT ("figured bass" OR "basso continuo") NOT "Bach" Only results that do not include the specified keyword will appear in the results list
Asterisk (*) compos* = compose, compositional, composer, etc. Each result will include variations of the root of the keyword

Combine AND, quotation marks, OR and parentheses, and asterisks * to create a more complex searches.

Example: ("figured bass" OR "basso continuo") AND instrument* AND Monteverdi