LibGuides: International Studies Papers: White Papers

Useful Resources

International Studies Encyclopedia
Includes peer-reviewed essays focusing on the most important topics and issues related to international studies, including diplomacy, nationalism, human rights, foreign policy, political geography, etc.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Empirical International Relations Theory
Provides an authoritative overview of the central approaches, methodologies, and topics of the field. Its comprehensive examination of both classic and emerging theories underscores the breadth and depth of international relations theory today.

U of I Library: Databases by Subject
Browse different subject areas to select a database that reflects your topic or research question.

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers citations and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To get the full-text of articles, click the three parallel horizontal lines, then click 'Settings' and 'Library Links,' search for 'University of Idaho', and click 'Save.'

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Over 169,400 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

World Bank Documents and Reports
Search more than 240,000 publicly available World Bank documents, including country reports, economic reports, project documents, and publications and research.
World Bank: Open Knowledge Repository
World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides access to OECD's online library of statistical databases and publications that cover various social and economic issues
Coverage varies, but generally ends in 2016

International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary
Provides access to publications, data, and statistical tools created by the IMF.
World Bank: Topics
Browse developmental topics, including agriculture, climate change, digital development, education, financial inclusion, gender, poverty, and many more.

UNData This link opens in a new window
UNdata is a single entry point that allows users to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

International Data Base
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center for Demographic and Economic Studies

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Provides free and open access to data about development in countries around the world.
There also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues. This site is meant to provide all users with improved access to World Bank data and to make that data easier to find and use.

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Browse World Bank locations by region or country groups.

United Nations: Integrated Civil Society Organizations System
Search for civil society organizations, including NGOs and IGOs, by focus area, geography, and consultative status.
Organizations in Consultative Status with the UN ECOSOC
Search for civil society organizations, including NGOs and IGOs, in consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).
UNESCO List of NGOs
List of NGOs that have official partnerships with UNESCO.
Worldwide NGO Directory
Search for NGOs by region, country, state, and area of focus. From the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).
Index of IGOs
Index of links to IGO International Intergovernmental Organizations websites that is maintained by Northwestern University.
Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program
Affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania, the TTCSP conducts research on think tanks and produces an annual 'Global Go To Think Tank Index'.

White Papers in the Martin Institute | International Studies

White papers in the Martin Institute and Program in International Studies are documents demonstrating the breadth of one’s analysis of an issue.

They are designed to show people how a proposed solution to a problem stacks up against other approaches.

They differ from position papers in that their main purpose is to justify a position rather than simply state it, and differ from a policy paper in terms of breadth.

A commonality with the other types of papers is an emphasis on succinctness.

Research Guides

International Studies Papers: White Papers

Useful Resources

White Papers in the Martin Institute | International Studies