LibGuides: International Studies Papers: Position Papers

Useful Resources

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Information on 194 countries and dependencies across the United Nations, Africa, the Americas, Asia & Oceania, and Europe. Entries discuss a variety of topics, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, especially useful for current events, controversial issues, politics, business, public opinion and more.
There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.PDF files are available for full issues dating back to January 1996; for issues published since January 2001, PDF files are in color.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content in support of a global awareness of the important issues of the modern world. Includes news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and country topic pages.

U of I Library: Databases by Subject
Browse different subject areas to select a database that reflects your topic or research question.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To get the full-text of articles, click the three parallel horizontal lines, then click 'Settings' and 'Library Links,' search for 'University of Idaho', and click 'Save.'

Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes full-text access to local, national, and international newspapers; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes; and business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
UN Member States on the Record
Search for individual countries in multiple UN databases. Contents include major speeches, resolutions sponsored, and country reports on performance under various human rights conventions.
U.S. Department of State: Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Provides information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of various countries. These fact sheets are also known as 'Background Notes'.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Browse World Bank locations by region or country groups.

United Nations: Integrated Civil Society Organizations System
Search for civil society organizations, including NGOs and IGOs, by focus area, geography, and consultative status.
Organizations in Consultative Status with the UN ECOSOC
Search for civil society organizations, including NGOs and IGOs, in consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).
UNESCO List of NGOs
List of NGOs that have official partnerships with UNESCO.
Worldwide NGO Directory
Search for NGOs by region, country, state, and area of focus. From the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).
Index of IGOs
Index of links to IGO International Intergovernmental Organizations websites that is maintained by Northwestern University.
Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program
Affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania, the TTCSP conducts research on think tanks and produces an annual 'Global Go To Think Tank Index'.

Position Papers in the Martin Institute | International Studies

Position papers are normally written in advance of a meeting in order to communicate a national, organizational, or personal position on a particular issue or set of issues.

They emphasize both thoroughness and succinctness in equal measure, given that as many entities as will attend a particular meeting generate position papers.

They differ from policy papers and white papers in that they do not seek to justify why a particular position is being advocated, but rather to communicate a country’s position/policy.

Another use for position papers is for agencies, politicians, and/or government departments to share their policy with constituents.

Research Guides

International Studies Papers: Position Papers

Useful Resources

Position Papers in the Martin Institute | International Studies