LibGuides: FS 110: Introduction to Food Science: Getting Started

About Reference Books

Reference books are a good way to get an overview of your topic. Reference books usually contain background information and bibliographies (which direct to other sources). In the UI Library, reference books are located on 1st floor near the Reference/Informaiton Desk.

Develop a Search Strategy

Find a topic
Refine your topic
Develop a research question
Brainstorm by creating a concept map and search terms
Add boolean operators to optimize your search
Use what you learn to continually refine your search

Floor Maps

To find library items

Take a look at our library floor maps

Food Science Reference Resources, Handbooks, and Manuals

Most reference books are located in the reference section on 1st floor. Others can be found in the Main Stacks on 2nd-4th floors. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification system.

The Oxford companion to American food and drink

Leung's encyclopedia of common natural ingredients : used in food, drugs, and cosmetics

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
Main Stacks - TX349.B4 2006
The business of food : encyclopedia of the food and drink industries
Main Stacks - HD9000.5.B875 2007
Dictionary of food Compounds: Additives, flavors, and ingredients
Main Stacks - TP368.2.D53 2004
Dictionary of Food Ingredients
Main Stacks - TX551.I26 2001
The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Ref TX349 .M266 2013
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Ref GT2850.E53 2003. Also available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
Main Stacks - QR115.E53 2000. Also available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Safety
Available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Main Stacks - TP368.2.E63 2003
Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food
Main Stacks - TX370.S63 2006
Encyclopedia of organic, sustainable, and local food
Main Stacks - HD9005.E645 2010
Food Additives Data Book
Main Stacks - TX553.A3F573 2003. Also available as e-book.
Food Analysis
Main Stacks - TX545.F54 2003
Food Chemicals Codex
Main Stacks - TX553.A3F66; Also available as e-book.
Food cultures of the world encyclopedia
Ref GT2850.F666 2011
Food Labeling--Requirements for FDA Regulated Products
Main Stacks - TX551.V48 2007
Handbook of Food Science, Technology, and Engineering
Main Stacks - TP370.4.H38 2006
International handbook of foodborne pathogens
Main Stacks - QR115.I57 2003
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Main Stacks - TP9.E685 2004
Leung’s Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients Used in Food, Drugs and Cosmetics
Main Stacks - QD415.A25L48 2010. Also available as ebook.
The Oxford companion to American food and drink
Main Stacks - TX349.O94 2007. Also available as e-book.
The Penguin Companion to Food
Ref TX349.D37 2002

Research Assistance

Need help getting started? Try our
Research Assistance Program!

Schedule a session with a librarian for help finding relevant and high quality information for research papers and projects.

Ask Us!

Call: (208)885-6584

Email: libref@uidaho.edu

Text: (208) 449-0841

Need help getting started? Try our
Research Assistance Program

Research Guides