Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Information Formats

A general introduction to using the library's resources.

Information Formats

Reference Books

Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.  Can be helpful in providing an overview of topics when you are beginning your research. Search the catalog for locations and call numbers 

Starting point:

Books 

Provides in-depth information on a topic. Print books are located on the 2nd-4th floors of the library. Ebooks are linked to the library catalog. 

Starting point:

 

Government Documents 

Any document created by a government agency in a variety of formats, such as books, pamphlets, databases, periodicals, etc. The UI Library is a federal depository for government documents. 

Starting point:

Primary and Secondary Sources 

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of a specific place or time, such as diaries, photographs, interviews, etc. Secondary sources are anything that interprets or analyzes a primary source

Starting point:

Scholarly Journals 

Contain articles written by experts in a particular field. Often go through a peer-review process. Print journals can be found on the 2nd floor of the Library and electronic journals on the website. 

Starting point:

Trade Journals 

Written for people working in a particular industry or profession by professionals in the field. Are not peer-reviewed. 

Starting point:

Magazines 

Popular magazines are written for the general public by journalists or professional writers. Are not peer-reviewed. 

Starting point:

Newspapers and News Media 

Provides the fastest coverage of current topics and events. Written by journalists and professional writers for the general public. Print and microfilm newspapers can be found on the 2nd floor of the UI Library.

Starting point:

Websites 

Any Internet based site that provides information. Can be published by anyone and are not held to standards of accuracy and truthfulness. Evaluate all websites using the CRAAP Test. 

Starting point:

  • Google Scholar (set Scholar preferences to include UI Library 360 Link as a Library link)

The Information Timeline

Knowing how and when different types of information are produced can be important for your research process.  Some information is produced immediately after an event, while other types are produced later.  The time can affect the content and quality of the information.  For more information,  see this page on the information cycle.

Image credit: adstarkel https://www.flickr.com/photos/113137114@N05/14129037811/ 

Information Timeline Video (oddest)