Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Other Services

A general introduction to using the library's resources.

Reference Desk

Need help with your research? 

Can't find a book on the shelf?

Looking for directions around campus?

Ask the Reference Desk!

bookshelf

Semester hours are Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday from 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Telephone: 208-885-6584

Email: libref@uidaho.edu

Text: 208-449-0841

Instant Messaging 

The Reference Department also offers one-on-one research meetings with a librarian through our Research Assistance Program

For more information, visit the Ask a Librarian webpage. 

Government Documents

The UI Library is the Regional Depository for U.S. Government Documents for the state of Idaho. This comprehensive and unique collection offers free access to more than 1.7 million items to all users.

For more information about government documents, visit the Government Information guide.

Other Libraries

In addition to the materials in the main library, UI has several subject-specific libraries throughout campus. Other campus libraries include:

UI students also have the ability to check out materials from the Washington State University library in Pullman, WA. Other local sources include the Moscow Public Library and the Neill Public Library.

In addition, the UI Library has partnerships with multiple libraries in the Pacific Northwest through the Summit: Orbis Cascade Alliance and worldwide through WolrdCat Libraries.

For further information about access to other libraries and a complete list of partnering institutions, visit the Other Libraries webpage.  

Computer Lab

The UI Library is home to the largest computer lab on campus. Managed by the ITS department, it contains: 

 

  • Computers
  • Color and black and white printers
  • Copy machine
  • Scanners

For more information about campus computer labs and services, visit the ITS website

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives is a department of the UI Library that collects and preserves rare and valuable materials that  document the cultural and environmental history of Idaho and surrounding areas. Collections include manuscripts, personal correspondence, business records, photographs, and more. Materials do not circulate, but are open for research to faculty, students, and visiting scholars. 

For more information about the collections and patron access, contact Special Collections and Archives

University of Idaho Library Cartographic Collections

Whether you are looking for the most up-to-date geospatial information or a unique visual aid for a history presentation, the University of Idaho Library Cartographic Collections have a number of resources for you to use!

The Map Room Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. with weekend hours available by appointment. Digital Collections are available around the clock.

For more information about the Cartographic Collections, visit the Map Resources guide. 

Digital Initiatives

The Digital Initiatives department preserves and makes accessible collections from UI and the state of Idaho.  Popular projects include:



Digital Initiatives has many on-going projects and new collections are added regularly. To see a full list and to access collections, visit the Digital Initiatives webpage.