LibGuides: Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Articles

About Articles

Why	for finding specific information on your topic
Where	articles can be found in article databases and in print (in the form of journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers). Try looking in second floor periodicals section and the journals section of our website.
How	begin by narrowing your search using boolean operators, key terms, and concept mapping

Getting Your Article

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is service that allows for the worldwide sharing of library materials. This service is available for faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

How do I Request a Library Item Using Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Databases

UI Library databases can be browsed by subject or alphabetically by title in the "Articles" tab on the library website.

Some of our most popular databases include:

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that offers a wide subject range of articles from academic and popular sources. Many, but not all, articles are offered in full-text.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete image backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The UI subscription includes all JSTOR titles with the exception of the Ireland Collection and 19th Century British Pamphlets. With a few exceptions, JSTOR titles do not include current issues. There is a moving wall of 3-5 years, depending on title, for which the latest issues are not available. Complete title list.
Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers, and citizens on every side of the issue. Reports can be browsed by topic, date, or pro/con feature.
There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.PDF files are available for full issues dating back to January 1996; for issues published since January 2001, PDF files are in color.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Multiple resources covering today's hot social issues, such as offshore drilling, health care and immigration explore issues from all perspectives.
Includes: * More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays * 5,000+ topic overviews * More than 300 primary source documents * 300 biographies of social activists and reformers * More than 775 court-case overviews * 5 million periodical articles * Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs * Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search * Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs * A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline New reference content is added on an ongoing basis, and new full-text periodical and newspaper articles are added every day.

Peer Review

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed articles (also know as refereed) go through a process where they are analyzed by experts in a field before publication.

articles are examined to evaluate the quality of research
reviewers decide if the article adds to the content of the field

Articles can be scholarly (written and published for an academic audience), yet not go through the peer-review process.

Is my Article Peer Reviewed?

1. Check if your journal is peer reviewed

Search for your title in Ulrich's Global Serials Directory
When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol. The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).

2. If the journal is peer reviewed, then assess the article

Is it a full research article? If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Research Guides

Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Articles