LibGuides: Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Periodicals

About Periodicals

Why	for finding specific and timely information about your topic.
Where	periodicals-- such as journals, magazines, newspapers, and microfilm-- can be found by searching the Library catalog and limiting format. All paper copies are located on the second floor of the Library. Electronic copies can be accessed through catalog records or through the "Journals" tab.
How	search by title in the Library catalog or browse by title or subject in the "Journals" tab or by searching our library catalog.

Looking for Information About a Journal?

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed information on thousands of periodicals covering a wide variety of subjects. Also provides links to UI Library full-text options.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Objectively evaluates the world's leading journals with statistical information, a variety of impact and influence metrics, and rank-in-category tables.
Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports can show you the: * Most frequently cited journals in a field * Highest impact journals in a field * Largest journals in a field
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (Education) This link opens in a new window
Provides publication information about journals in Education. Professors and graduate students frequently use Cabell's Directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts.

Finding Newspaper Articles

In addition to a wide range of local, national, and international newspapers in print and microfilm, (for a full list, click HERE) the UI Library has several databases that offer full-text of articles from newspapers. Lexis-Nexis Academic is one of the most popular sources.

Argonaut
Search the University of Idaho's student newspaper and see full text articles from June 2002-present.
Argonaut Index ( UI Library)
Only articles about the University of Idaho and its faculty, staff and students are included, International, national, state and local news items omitted. Bound paper copies may be used in Special Collections. Full microfilm back file is located on the second floor.

Search by one keyword at a time.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online
Published daily, the Chronicle contains the complete contents from the latest issue, news, advice, and job postings for people in academia.

Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text of articles in news, business and legal information.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The UI Library offers all UI students, faculty, and staff online access to the New York Times.

NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video.
For more information about setting up an account and access options please see our New York Times Information Guide.
Coverage: 1851-present (limitations on accessing 1923-1980)
Users: unlimited
Access Type: UI-affiliated
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes over a thousand different newspapers and provides comprehensive full-text for many major newspapers. Also includes transcripts for major television and radio news transcripts. Mostly covers recent years, though date coverage varies by source.
The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Also contains nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
America's Historical Newspapers - Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text of newspapers from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho from 1854-1922.
Titles included in the archive: Blackfoot Register 1880-1886 Idaho Statesman 1864-1922 Idaho Falls Times 1891-1920 Idaho Register 1886-1916 Owyhee Avalance 1865-1900 Twin Falls News 1918-1922 Oregon State Journal 1864-1880 Democratic Standard (Portland) 1854-1859 Oregonian 1861-1922 Bellingham Herald 1903-1922 Morning Olympian 1891-1922 Olympia Record 1902-1922 Hokubei Jiji (Seattle) 1916-1918 Tacoma Daily News 1890-1898

Research Guides

Getting Started on Research in the UI Library : Periodicals

About Periodicals

Looking for Information About a Journal?

Finding Newspaper Articles

Joe Learns About Microfilm