- University of Idaho
- Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences
- Collection Development Policy
Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences
Collection Development Policy
University of Idaho Library
Collection Development Policy
College of Education Curriculum Center
I. General Purpose: This policy details collecting guidelines for the Curriculum Center at the College of Education, University of Idaho. The Curriculum Center houses children's literature, Idaho approved textbooks, classroom/teacher support resources, audio-visual materials, education-related periodicals, and reference books pertaining to these collections.
II. History of the Curriculum Center: The Curriculum Center was formed in 1969 when the College of Education’s current building was put into use.
III. Curriculum Center Mission Statement: The mission of the College of Education Curriculum Center is to support and contribute to the vision and mission of the University of Idaho, the UI Libraries, and the College of Education by providing access to relevant print and electronic resources, library services, technology, and physical space for study and collaboration. Faculty and staff at the Curriculum Center will in good faith attempt to pursue the Guidelines for Curriculum Materials Centers approved by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Board of Directors, incorporating these guidelines into the relevant collection development activities, services, and goals of the Curriculum Center.
IV. Audience: The primary patron base and service priority of the Curriculum Center are the students, staff and faculty of the College of Education and the University of Idaho community. Idaho teachers and other educational staff as well as community patrons are also welcome to use the Curriculum Center.
V. General Collection Guidelines:
Resources are generally collected in English only. Materials in other languages will be collected if they support the teaching of those languages. The children’s literature collection will include both bilingual and Spanish-language fiction and non-fiction.
Curriculum and support materials collected are those most likely to be relevant to teachers and educational staff working in first in Idaho public schools, second in the rest of the United States, and third in international school systems. The children and young adult collection will include materials relevant to and originating from Idaho, the nation, and the world.
Types of Materials Collected
Materials collected include adopted curriculum materials, children’s and young adult materials, University of Idaho College of Education theses and dissertations, assessments and educational tests, grant-funded professional materials, and NASA and space-related materials. Special emphasis is also granted to materials relating to Native Americans and Lewis and Clark.
Format of Materials
Materials purchased by the Curriculum Center will be in print form if available. Electronic materials, such as Praxis study guides, will be purchased in an electronic format if no print can be found.
Curriculum Materials are withdrawn according to the SBOE Curriculum Adoption Schedule. Every six years a subject area is reviewed by an SBOE committee. New materials are adopted and sent to curriculum materials centers. As soon as the new materials are added to the Curriculum Center, old materials from that subject area are withdrawn. Materials are free to the general public and are placed on the give-away table as space permits.
Children’s materials are infrequently weeded and done primarily due to damages or space needs. Materials are first offered to the main library. Remaining items are placed on the give-away table in the hall.
VI. Specific Collection Guidelines:
· The Curriculum Center does not collect professional education materials. These will be collected by the main library. Exceptions may be made for materials funded through grants obtained by COE faculty or instructors.
· Professional materials from the main library may be temporarily held at the Curriculum Center if placed on reserve by COE faculty or instructors.
VII. Detailed Subject Areas:
· Curriculum Materials: The Curriculum Center will collect the required materials that are currently approved by the Idaho State Department of Education for use in Idaho’s public schools. The complete list of approved materials may be found here: http://www.sde.idaho.gov/site/curricular_materials/adoption_guide.htm. Publishers are required to provide only a teacher’s edition and a student’s edition of approved materials. The Curriculum Center may opt to purchase supplementary material as requested by patrons.
· Children and Young Adult Materials: Children’s and young adult materials will be collected based on awards, book reviews, and requests. Efforts will be made to ensure materials represent a range of ideas, cultures, and subject areas. Materials collected will include fiction, non-fiction, poetry, folk and fairy tales, graphic novels, science fiction, fantasy, and plays.
· NASA Educational Resource Center: The NASA ERC program was discontinued in 2013. Print materials will be withdrawn after they have been retained for ten years or as staff sees fit.
· North Idaho Regional Special Education Library (NIRSEL) Materials: NIRSEL materials are no longer available at the Curriculum Center. Many of the materials were transferred to the Couer d' Alene campus. Contact Carrie Reese (208-292-2525) or Sue Selle-Shelton (208-292-2528) for more information.
· Audio-Visual Equipment: The College of Education provides a limited amount of AV equipment to be used by Curriculum Center patrons. Laptops, digital cameras, video cameras, projectors, headphones, and voice recorders will be added and replaced by the COE as funds become available.
· Periodicals: A limited number of print periodicals related to education will be made available to patrons of the Curriculum Center. Periodicals held by the main library, either electronically or in print, will not be purchased by the Curriculum Center.
· Assessments: Assessments resources are provided by those departments needing their students to use them. Access to some materials is restricted to faculty and students involved with specific classes.
VIII. Other Resources Available: In addition to physical collections at the University of Idaho Library, UI patrons have access to the libraries of Summit members. The UI Library also subscribes to a variety of education databases including the EBSCO version of ERIC, which is a clearinghouse of educational resources available in a wide variety of formats, Teacher Reference Center, the Professional Development Collection, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and Education Index Retrospective. Databases for children and young adults include MAS Ultra – School Edition, Middle Search Plus, Novelist K-8, Primary Search Plus, and Searchasaurus.
IX. Cross References to Other Collection Areas: Leadership and Counseling, Curriculum and Instruction, Movement Sciences
X. Creation Date: August 2012
XI. Revision History: October 2012; March 2013; January 2014, January 2017.
XII. Classification Systems: The Curriculum Center uses an in-house classification system for curriculum materials. An outline of the system may be found on the Curriculum Center website. Children’s and young adult materials are classified with the Dewey Decimal system. Theses and dissertations are classified with the Library of Congress system.
XIII. Bibliographer: Ramirose Attebury
- Last Updated: Dec 8, 2017 11:25 AM
- URL: https://libguides.uidaho.edu/GSCC
- Print Page