LibGuides: International Studies: Find Articles

Library Resources for International Studies

International Studies
Multidisciplinary

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content in support of a global awareness of the important issues of the modern world. Includes news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and country topic pages.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Over 169,400 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers citations and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, especially useful for current events, controversial issues, politics, business, public opinion and more.
There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.PDF files are available for full issues dating back to January 1996; for issues published since January 2001, PDF files are in color.

United Nations Digital Library
Comprehensive access to documents and speeches of the United Nations and its subordinate bodies.

U of I Library: Databases by Subject
Browse different subject areas to select a database that reflects your topic or research question.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To get the full-text of articles, click the three parallel horizontal lines, then click 'Settings' and 'Library Links,' search for 'University of Idaho', and click 'Save.'

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly and peer-reviewed journals within various disciplines.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Coverage: 1975-present for some periodicals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR is very useful if you are interested in historic content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present
Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes full-text access to local, national, and international newspapers; television and radio broadcasts; and newswires and blogs.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users

Use Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a Library service that allows you to request materials, such as articles or books, that are neither owned by the UI Library nor available through Summit.

Interlibrary Loan is free.

First time users: Visit the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) website to set-up your ILL account

To place an Interlibrary Loan request:

Search for the item you would like to request using the Library catalog
If this item does not appear in the search results, visit the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) website
Click 'ILLiad Login'
Enter your U of I - NetID credentials
Under 'New Request,' click the item type
Fill-in the required fields, then click on 'Submit'
- You will receive an email when your item is ready to pick-up or download

Why Use Articles?

Articles are generally more specific and current than books.

Begin your search broadly, then narrow your topic using Boolean operators, key terms, and concept mapping.

If the full-text of an article isn't available, submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request and we will get the PDF for you!

Journal of the Martin Institute

The Journal of the Martin Institute | International Studies features top student research within the Martin Institute.

Research Guides

International Studies: Find Articles

Library Resources for International Studies

Use Interlibrary Loan

Why Use Articles?

Journal of the Martin Institute