Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

ENVS 102: Other Resources

Resources to support ENVS102, including lifecycle assessment information and general environmental sciences resources

UI Library Catalog

The UI Library catalog provides access to journal articles, books, government reports, and much more.  It is always a good place to begin a search for a new topic.

Click here to search the catalog

Finding Fulltext Articles

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article.  Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext. 

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

Using DOIs

One of the easiest ways to find journal literature is to use the Digital Object Identifier, or DOI.  These are assigned to individual articles by most publishers and usually look something like this:

doi:10.1016/j.foreco.2009.01.017

You can use the doi.org service to easily link directly to the article.  The best part is - these are designed to be permanent!  No need to worry about long URLs that might change down the road.  They are also increasingly accepted as a part of citation formats.

Literature Databases

CABDirect
Most comprehensive database for environmental sciences, plant sciences, forestry, and leisure/tourism studies.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Areas of coverage include: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality, Ecology & Environment, Pollution, Sustainability Science.

Web of Science
Contains the Social Science Citation Index - a key resource to identifying major articles in the social sciences. Also contains the Science Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and more.

GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

PsychINFO
Provides abstracts to journal articles in the field of psychology. International coverage, also includes some book chapters and book records.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.

Environmental Health and Toxicology Databases
Abstracts and citations covering the environmental sciences are drawn from over 10,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources.

BuildingGreen Suite
Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies.

TOXLINE
Citations and abstracts to literature in all areas of toxicology.

Water Resources Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to literature on many aspects of water, including hydrology, public health, fisheries, and climatology.

Literature Reviews

If you are looking for literature reviews, try these resources:

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.