LibGuides: ENVS 102: Life Cycle Assessments: Product, Process, and Impact Resources

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference contains dozens of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and similar reference books. Try searching for a specific product (e.g. dye or cement) or process (e.g. sand blasting) to find more information.

Life Cycle Inventory Databases

US Life Cycle Assessment Commons
The Life Cycle Assessment Commons (LCA Commons) is a data repository hosted by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Agricultural Library (NAL). It is a repository dedicated to access and long-term preservation of life cycle assessment (LCA) data, tools, and resources. We support LCA researchers by collecting, curating, archiving, publishing, and preserving LCA data sets related to agriculture.
Life Cycle Assessment Handbook / Curran
Page 115 contains a series of lists of databases relevant to LCI/LCA/LCIA research.
U.S. Lifecycle Inventory Database
Contains lifecycle stage information conducted by various groups. Particularly valuable for identifying inputs/outputs of manufacturing and natural resource extractive processes. Maintained by the US Dept. of Energy.
Environmental Product Declaration Database
Database of official env. product declarations - a method used by companies to communicate information about the environmental impact of their products.

Materials, Products, and Processes Resources

Title/Description	Link/Library Location
How products are made	online
Stuff: the secret lives of everyday things	HB835.R96 1997
Handbook of Manufacturing Processes: How Products, Components and Materials Are Made	online
Where stuff comes from: how toasters, toilets, cars, computers, and many other things come to be how they are	TA148.M65 2003
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry	online
Household Products Database	online
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology	Ref Q121.M3 2007
Encyclopedia of Global Industries	Ref HD2324.E528 2007
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society	online
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences - details production of wood/forest products	online
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues	online
Life cycle thinking: World Steel Association	online
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology	TP9 .E685 2004

Resources for Environmental Impacts and Effects

Title/Description	Link/Library Location
The NREL Publications Database	online
EPA Waste Reduction Model (WARM) Material Descriptions and Data Sources	online
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste: The Social Science of Garbage	online / Ref HD4482.E53 2012
Life Cycle Assessment of Energy Generation Technologies - wind, solar, nuclear, etc.	online
Toxnet - Toxicology Data Network	online
Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide	online
Electronic Waste Management	online
US EPA - Recycling	online

Data/Statistics

FAO Stat
Statistical information from the Food and Agriculture Organization (UN). Covers individual commodities as well as other agriculture/environment data.
National Agriculture Statistics Service
Agriculture and environment statistics for the United States. Maintained by the USDA.
National Minerals Information Center
Official statistical portal for mining and extractive industries (e.g. gas, oil) in the United States. Includes information on recycling and "materials flow". Maintained by the USGS.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Contains information on all forms of transportation in the US, including commercial and freight transport and shipping.

Research Guides

ENVS 102: Life Cycle Assessments: Product, Process, and Impact Resources

Oxford Reference Online

Life Cycle Inventory Databases

Materials, Products, and Processes Resources

Resources for Environmental Impacts and Effects

Data/Statistics