Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

AOLL 570 Resources: Finding Articles

This guide offers suggested databases, articles, and books relevant to AOLL 570.

How Do I Find Articles?

Articles are found in journals, and journals are often found in databases. Different databases provide access to different journals. To find education-related articles, you'll want to search in education-related databases.  The list to the right lets you know what education-databases that the University of Idaho Library subscribes to.  Please ask if you have any questions!

VIDEO Options: 

Finding the Education Databases

Finding a Known Journal Article

Using Interlibrary Loan for Articles

Scholarly vs. Popular


Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles

  • Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
  • Highly respected in academia
  • Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
  • Usually include an abstract
  • Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation

Magazine Articles

  • Written for the general public
  • Contain advertising
  • Reviewed by editors
  • Limited references
  • Often For-Profit

Library Databases for Finding Articles

Below are a list of recommended databases related to education, organizational learning, and leadership.  These are merely suggestions.  To explore more database options visit: http://www.lib.uidaho.edu/find/articles.html. 

ABI/Inform Global

A comprehensive business database, ABI/INFORM Global includes the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels, including topics such as business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape. 

Business Source Premier

A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. 

ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.‚Äč

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.


Sage Full-Text Collections

Limit searches to a variety of Sage full-text management and organizational studies journals. HINT: Do an Advanced Search. Under the "Search Within" option, select "Select from a list of disciplines." Select "Social Sciences and Humanities." Notice the "Management and Organization" Studies resource.  

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Vocational and Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American MachinistPediatric NursingWireless WeekDrug Store NewsVideo BusinessReeves JournalHotel and Motel ManagementRestaurant BusinessAdvertising Age, and many more.

 

 

Managing Your Sources