LibGuides: AOLL Library Resources: Finding Books

What is Primo?

What are you searching when you use the library's catalog?

+Summit + Articles (Default): This searches print books at all libraries in the Orbis Cascade Alliance, print and ebooks from the University of Idaho Library (Main Library, Law Library, IMTC, Women's Center, and Herbarium), and articles from SOME of the library's databases.
+Summit: This searches print books at all libraries in the OCA and print and ebooks from the University of Idaho Library.
+UI Library: This searches print and ebooks from the University of Idaho Library.

If you are interested in requesting print books be sent to your off-campus address, please view the Distance Education LibGuide to learn more.

New Research Methods Books

Qualitative Research Methods by Sarah J. Tracy
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 140519202X
Publication Date: 2013-01-04
Qualitative Research Methods is a comprehensive, all-inclusive resource for the theory and practice of qualitative/ethnographic research methodology. Serves as a "how-to" guide for qualitative/ethnographic research, detailing how to design a project, conduct interviews and focus groups, interpret and analyze data, and represent it in a compelling manner. Demonstrates how qualitative data can be systematically utilized to address pressing personal, organizational, and social problems.
Basic Statistics for Social Research by Robert A. Hanneman; Augustine J. Kposowa; Mark D. Riddle
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 0470587989
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
A core statistics text that emphasizes logical inquiry, not math. Basic Statistics for Social Research teaches core general statistical concepts and methods that all social science majors must master to understand (and do) social research. Its use of mathematics and theory are deliberately limited, as the authors focus on the use of concepts and tools of statistics in the analysis of social science data, rather than on the mathematical and computational aspects. Research questions and applications are taken from a wide variety of subfields.
Social Research Methods by Nicholas Walliman
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 1412910625
Publication Date: 2006-04-27
Social Research Methods provides student readers with essential help with their research project, with revising for their course exams, preparing and writing course assessment materials, and enhancing and progressing their knowledge and thinking skills in line with course requirements on Research Methods courses.

Leadership

Leadership Learning for the Future by Klaus Scala (Editor); Ralph Grossman (Editor); Marlies Lenglachner (Editor)
Call Number: HD57.7 .L43418 2014 or Request in Primo
ISBN: 9781623964610
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
"Management makes the world go round". This was also the title of an international conference on management learning , where the authors of this volume presented their ideas, shared their experiences, increased their knowledge and contributed to a fascinating debate in a context with a great professional and cultural diversity. This inspired the group to hold on to this debate and develop the ideas further on. So this book was created and brought into the IAP division of Management Education.

Finding eBooks

Ebooks can be accessed through the library catalog. Just conduct your search, then use the "Full Text Online" and "Books" links on the left side of the screen to limit to ebooks.

Some ebook packages will require downloading Adobe Digital Editions (free).

Adult Education

The Handbook of Transformative Learning by Edward W. Taylor; Patricia Cranton
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 0470590726
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
The Handbook of Transformative Learning provides a comprehensive and critical review of more than three decades of theory development, research, and practice in Transformative Learning (TL).It will help adult educators understand what transformative learning is, distinguish it from other forms of learning, and foster it in their practice. The book covers five broad areas: historical, theoretical, practical, research, and future perspective.
Teaching Adults by Ralph G. Brockett
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 9781118903599
Publication Date: 2014-12-03
Readers will delve into to a variety of topics, including: A general teaching framework, including the author's four keys to effective teaching, An in-depth exploration of the primary components of effective teaching, An examination of the unique challenges involved with teaching adults, including how to best create a positive learning environment, overcoming resistance to learning, motivation techniques, and dealing with difficult or disruptive learners. The book elucidates the techniques required to connect with adult learners and provide instruction that is specifically tailored to the unique learning needs of these students.

Organizational Learning

Teaming by Amy C. Edmondson; Edgar H. Schein
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 078797093X
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
New breakthrough thinking in organizational learning, leadership, and change Continuous improvement, understanding complex systems, and promoting innovation are all part of the landscape of learning challenges today's companies face. Amy Edmondson shows that organizations thrive, or fail to thrive, based on how well the small groups within those organizations work. In most organizations, the work that produces value for customers is carried out by teams, and increasingly, by flexible team-like entities.
Making Sense of Organisational Learning by Cyril Kirwan
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 1409441865
Publication Date: 2013-05-23
Cyril Kirwan examines the wide range of factors necessary to create and sustain organisational learning and knowledge at all levels. The book shows how to best exploit the knowledge that already exists within the organisation while at the same time develop the capability of the people that work there, highlighting in particular the role of the HR function and of line managers. Each chapter provides theoretical background and real-world examples.
Reframing Organizations by Lee G. Bolman; Terrence E. Deal
Call Number: Ebook - Use Primo
ISBN: 1118573331
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
The Classic Leadership Resources Now In Its 5th Edition! First published in 1984, Lee Bolman and Terrence Deal's bestselling text has become a classic in the field. Its four-frame model provides four different perspectives through which organizations can be understood.