LibGuides: Forest and Fire Sciences: Remote Sensing

Online Resources

NASA Landsat & Remote Sensing Tutorials
Completed as of January 1, 2011. The purpose of the tutorial is to be a learning resource for college students...in the basics of space-centered remote sensing.
Aerial and Close-Range Photogrammetric Technology
Bureau of Land Management technical note on the practice of photogrammetry.
National Geodetic Survey
The Mission of NOAA's National Geodetic Survey (NGS) is "to define, maintain and provide access to the National Spatial Reference System to meet our nation's economic, social, and environmental needs."
What is LIDAR?
Educational material from NOAA's Ocean Service.

Getting Started with Remote Sensing Literature

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The UI Library subscription to Web of Science contains Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Covers all areas of science.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 - present; the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 - present. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Indexes major remote sensing journals.

Library Resources

INSIDE Idaho
INSIDE Idaho is the official geospatial data clearinghouse for the State of Idaho. It serves as a comprehensive geospatial data digital library, providing access to, and a context within which to use, geospatial data and information by, for, and about Idaho.
Geospatial Resources
The library's portal to U-Idaho's geospatial resources.
Historical Aerial Photographs
The University of Idaho library aerial photograph collections – primarily of Idaho ‐ in non‐digital formats are housed in standard file cabinets and map cases in the southwest corner of the Map Room – Library first floor, northwest corner. This incomplete, but valuable collection includes government aerial images from the mid‐1930s to the early 1990s.
IQ-Station
The IQ-station, which stands for Inexpensive Interactive Immersive Interface, is a virtual reality tool by which University of Idaho researchers can interact with complex datasets in three dimensions

Organizations & Associations

American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing
Founded in 1934, the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) is a scientific association serving more than 7,000 professionals worldwide.
more...less...
Our mission is to promote the ethical application of active and passive sensors, the disciplines of photogrammetry, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and other supporting geospatial technologies; to advance the understanding of the geospatial and related sciences; to expand public awareness of the profession; and to promote a balanced representation of the interests of government, academia, and private enterprise.
American Geophysical Union
AGU is dedicated to furthering the sciences of geophysics through the individual efforts of our members and in cooperation with other national and international scientific organizations.
more...less...
The American Geophysical Union (AGU), which was established in 1919 by the National Research Council and for more than 50 years operated as an unincorporated affiliate of the National Academy of Sciences, is now a nonprofit corporation chartered under the laws of the District of Columbia.
Urban and Regional Information Systems Association
The Urban and Regional Information Systems Association (URISA) is a nonprofit association of professionals using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and other information technologies...
more...less...
URISA is considered to be the premier organization for the use and integration of spatial information technology to improve the quality of life in urban and regional environments.
American Association of Geographers
The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. Geographers use many tools and techniques in their work, including Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Remote Sensing, Global Positioning Systems (GPS), and online mapping.

Research Guides

Forest and Fire Sciences

Top Remote Sensing Journals

Online Resources

Getting Started with Remote Sensing Literature

Library Resources

Organizations & Associations