LibGuides: Forest and Fire Sciences: Data and Statistics

Geospatial Data

Human Dimensions/Demography Data

Climate Data

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides information from the National Climatic Data Center, part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Included are climatic data from major airport weather stations, precipitation data, storm data, and Monthly Climatic Data for the World.

Soil, Vegetation, and Land Use Data

Forestry Inventory and Analysis National Program (USFS)
Urban Forest Data (USFS)
Public Land Statistics (BLM)
ForesSTAT (UN FAO)
LANDFIRE (USGS)
Global Change Master Directory - Land Surface
Oak Ridge National Lab - Vegetation Collections (ORNL-DAAC)
Vegetation collections data include: biomass, biome characteristics, litter chemistry and decomposition, geoecology, nutrient concentration profiles and turnover, global fire emissions, vegetation, and Leaf Area Index (LAI), ecosystem Structure and Function, phenoregions, carbon flux
Oak Ridge National Lab - Soils Collections (ORNL-DAAC)
The ORNL DAAC Soil Collections archive contains data on the physical and chemical properties of soils, including: soil carbon and nitrogen, soil water-holding capacity, soil respiration, soil texture.
International Multiproxy Paleofire Database (NOAA)
Wood Hole Research Center Datasets
Datasets available include the National Biomass and Carbon Dataset 2000 (NBCD) and the Large-Scale Biosphere-Atmosphere Experiment (LBA).
USGS ScienceBase

Fish & Wildlife Population Data

Global Population Dynamics Database
Contains around 5000 datasets
Global Population Dynamics Database User Guide (Word Document)
Guide for using and understand the Global Population Dynamics Database
US GAP Analysis Program Species Data
Knowedge Network for Biocomplexity
FishBase
BirdLife International - Data Zone
UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Program - Species Database

Citing Datasets

If you are following a particular style, try to form the citation according to the general rules of that style. If in doubt, it is better to provide more information than less.

The general parts of a data citation are:

1. Responsible Party;

2. Title of dataset;

3. Edition or version of dataset, if applicable;

4. Name and location of data center, repository, or publisher;

5. Date published;

6. Analysis software, if required;

7. Date accessed;

8. URL, DOI or other persistent link;

9. Parameters selected, if applicable

Alternately, Mark Parsons from the NCAR Library suggests this:

Author(s). ReleaseDate. Title, Version. [editor(s)]. Archive. Locator (such as DOI). [date/time accessed]. [subset used].

More information, examples, and thoughts on citing datasets can be found here.

Research Guides

Forest and Fire Sciences