LibGuides: Journalism and Mass Media (JAMM) 446 [Blevins]: Search Library Resources

Search the Library Catalog

The Library Catalog is the best place to find books and ebooks.

Type your topic into the search box to start your research.

Request a Book via Summit

Summit is a Library service that allows you to access to print materials and media from libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho.

To place a Summit request:

Search for the book or media item in our Library catalog
Click the item's title
Under "Get it," click "Sign in" next to "U Idaho Users Sign-In for Request Options"
Enter your U of I NetID credentials
Click "Place Summit request"
Fill out the request form, then click "Submit"
- You will receive an email when your item is ready to be picked up

Library Databases: Use the resources below to search for your topic in multiple journals at once.

If the full-text of the article is not available, request the PDF for free via Interlibrary Loan.

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed journal articles as well as magazines and trade publications in the areas of communications, media, and related disciplines.
CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCAs six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Search within over 670 journals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and technology.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search within 250 journals in gender studies, the social sciences, and humanities.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes full-text access to local, national, and international newspapers; television and radio broadcasts; and newswires and blogs.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users

Library Databases: Use the resources below to search for your topic in multiple journals at once.

If the full-text of the article is not available, request the PDF for free via Interlibrary Loan.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly and peer-reviewed journals within various disciplines.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Coverage: 1975-present for some periodicals

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. To get the full-text of articles, click the three parallel horizontal lines, then click 'Settings' and 'Library Links,' search for 'University of Idaho', and click 'Save.'

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR is very useful if you are interested in historic content.

Use Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a Library service that allows you to request materials, such as articles or books, that are neither owned by the UI Library nor available through Summit.

Interlibrary Loan is free.

First time users: Visit the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) website to set-up your ILL account

To place an Interlibrary Loan request:

Search for the item you would like to request using the Library catalog
If this item does not appear in the search results, visit the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) website
Click 'ILLiad Login'
Enter your U of I - NetID credentials
Under 'New Request,' click the item type
Fill-in the required fields, then click on 'Submit'
- You will receive an email when your item is ready to pick-up or download

Research Guides

Journalism and Mass Media (JAMM) 446 [Blevins]: Search Library Resources

Search the Library Catalog

Request a Book via Summit

Library Resources

Use Interlibrary Loan