Skip to main content

Research Guides

Civil Engineering: Start

A guide to Civil Engineering resources at the University of Idaho Library.

Ask A Question - Get an Answer

Useful Civil Engineering Databases

Articles are generally more specific; use more specific keywords to create a narrower search.
Journals may contain both popular and scholarly sources (magazine, journal, and newspaper articles)

Browse a list of journals subscribed to by the library

Search Article Databases

Compendex (Engineering Index)

This is the most comprehensive index in engineering with over 9 million references.

Civil Engineering Database

(1970-present) The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) database provides access to over 100,000 bibliographic and abstracted records.

CSA Illumina

(dates vary) Provides access to citations and abstracts in a range of subjects, including the following engineering-related files: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramics Abstract, Conference Papers Index, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, and others.

Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information

"Provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees."

Web of Science

(1900-present) This database contains Science Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 7,100 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.

IEEE Xplore

Provides access to all publications in the IEEE Computer Society package. Also provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IEE conference proceedings, active IEEE standards. Coverage 1988 to present; plus Proceedings of the IEEE, 1963-1987, with select content published since 1893.

Inspec

Created by the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Includes abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers in many engineering areas, including computing and information technology. Includes more than 11 million records; 5000 journals; and 2500 conference proceedings. Coverage from 1969 to present.

SciVerse ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for 1800 subscribed titles and 1300 additional non-subscribed titles. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from ‘non-subscribed’ journals. Users who register may receive free table of contents alerts. This database also includes access for 390 e-books. Coverage is 1995 to present.

Need Help?