Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Do I Need Articles?
Articles are a great way to look at a specific aspect of an issue or topic. Articles tend to be shorter but more academically written, and can come from a variety of scholarly or popular publications. The library subscribes to many different journals that contain high-quality research that just isn't available on the open web. For example, a search conducted in a library database like Urban Studies Abstracts can retrieve 10x more full-text, peer-reviewed articles than a search in Google Scholar (see below), because so much scholarly information is licensed by for-profit companies.
Browse Planning and Sustainability Journals @ UI
Recommended peer reviewed planning journals owned by the UI Library
- Development and Change
- International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
- Journal of Planning Education and Research
- Journal of Planning Literature
- Journal of Regional Science
- Journal of Rural Studies
- Journal of the American Planning Association (we only own up to 18 months ago, not current)
- Long Range Planning
- Planning Theory
- Policy Sciences
- Progress in Planning
- Research Policy
- Sustainability Science
- Sustainable Development.
- World Development
Finding Full Text Articles
While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.
When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:
You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.
Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.
If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.
Urban Planning Databases @ UI
Academic Search Premier and Communication & Mass Media
Interdisciplinary databases and a gateway to all the Ebsco databases. Click on "Choose databases" near the search box and add or delete databases to search.
Includes access to over 1,800 journals in science fields, including those in landscape architecture and related fields. Users can browse by discipline or search by keyword.
Building Green Suite
Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
Greenfile (from Ebsco)
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Urban Studies Abstracts (from Ebsco)
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Indexes approximately 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences; especially useful in researching architecture of the last century.
Offers nearly 250 quality journal titles covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Users can search by topic or keyword, or browse discipline-specific journals.
Water Resources Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to literature on many aspects of water, including hydrology, public health, fisheries, and climatology.
Over 1500 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Users can search by topic or keyword, or browse by journals in the discipline of landscape architecture. Users should note that this database features a 3-5 year "moving wall" excluding current content.
Web of Science
Includes access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, which indexes more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, including landscape architecture and bioregional planning.
Using Google Scholar
Although our library databases are much more robust than Google Scholar, you can add some functionality to Google Scholar to make it better interface with our library resources.
Go to Google Scholar, open Preferences and scroll to Settings, then choose "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select all the options you see for our school. Save changes. This allows Google Scholar to cross-check some (but not nearly all!) of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI login.