LibGuides: Alternative Literature Searching: Databases

University of Idaho Biomedical and Biological Databases

Agricola (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Over 4.8 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. Covers agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
CABDirect - CAB Abstracts Archive This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973).
Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. Some full-text content is available on the CABDirect platform.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat. With over 1,150,000 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s, this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of fish and aquatic biology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage.
Weekly updates
Nearly 4 million bibliographic records
Indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed
Coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
Authored and edited books and book chapters
Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
Publications from more than 50 countries
Journals published in 29 languages
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports in all areas of toxicology.
Part of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

Research Guides

Alternative Literature Searching

Citation Management Software

Linking the UI Library to Google Scholar

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

University of Idaho Biomedical and Biological Databases