LibGuides: EDCI 329: Elementary Science Education: Finding Elementary Science Articles

Databases for Students

Explora Primary This link opens in a new window
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
• Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
• Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
• Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
• Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
• Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
• Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards.

Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Also offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, consisting of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

World Book For Kids
Encyclopedia for students in early grades. Features multimedia, comparison tools, and interactive games and activities for learning.

Databases for Teachers

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature.
*Please be aware of recent changes to ERIC indexing practices. Starting April 24, 2025, cataloging activities at the Department of Education will be significantly reduced."
•More than 1.6 million records
•Links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents
•Coverage dating back to 1966
•An education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms

ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.

Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Professional Development Collection (for Educators) This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 520 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Research Guides

EDCI 329: Elementary Science Education: Finding Elementary Science Articles

Connecting Your UIdaho and Google Scholar Accounts

Databases for Students

Databases for Teachers

ERIC Search