Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance section in the Main Library
Generally, books about Dance are going to be found on the 4th floor of main library under this call number:
Use Primo to search for information on specific types of dances.
Search the Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, and more
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:
Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only (items owned only by the UI Library).
Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.
Visual Resources for Dance
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
An online video collection of Jacob's Pillow Festival artists from 1937 to today.
NYPL Digital Collections
This site has links to multiple dance related resources including Treasures from the Cia Fornaroli Collection, the Claire Holt Collection of Indonesian Dance and Related Arts, and Dance in Photographs and Prints.
Fred Fehl Dance Collection
This digital collection currently consists of images of the Martha Graham Dance Company, the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, and the American Ballet Theatre. Other companies will be added as digitization is completed.
ArtSTOR (Limited to UI only)
An online collection of art, paintings, and sculpture. Includes many images about Dance.
Search Physical Education Index
Search Physical Education Index for articles about Dance and other related subjects.
Scholarly vs. Popular
Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles
- Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
- Highly respected in academia
- Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
- Usually include an abstract
- Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation
- Written for the general public
- Contain advertising
- Reviewed by editors
- Limited references
- Often For-Profit