Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Podcasts tools: (see below)
Podcast criteria (compelling story, interviews, music integration, etc.) NPR article on how to create good podcasts
Creating your podcast will require two steps 1) create the audio file, 2) upload to a host site.
Ways to Create an audio file:
- With your phone's voice recorder or this online VoiceRecorder
- If you use a Mac, you can use the QuickTime player to create the audio file.
- If you are on a PC, you can use Sound Recorder.
- If you would like to edit your podcast, or add music, you can try using Audacity (free audio editing tool)
Host sites. Upload the audio file to one of these free host sites or another of your choice.
Remember that your file must be uploaded to a host site to play without a user needing to download.
Story map criteria (compelling story, integration of maps/spatial data, images, video, audio, using the story map functions to focus the on key story points)
To create a story map:
- Go to: https://storymaps.arcgis.com
- Click on “Sign In” in the top right.
- Click on “Enterprise login” and enter “uidaho” in the box. Then click on “Continue”.
- Follow the UI sign in procedures (using your NetID and password)
- Once logged in, click on “Create a Story” in the top right.
- After you complete your story map, you must publish it to finish your assignment.
- Click on “Publish”, and then share it with “My organization” (note: sharing it with everyone will make it completely public).
Alternatively, you can log in through https://storymaps-classic.arcgis.com/en/app-list/ and see a series of different templates to use.
Get design ideas from the story maps gallery: https://storymaps-classic.arcgis.com/en/gallery/#s=0
To complete this assignment:
- First, make sure that you have published it (see #6 above).
- Second, submit your story map URL (link) for grading above (cut and paste the URL and Submit).
- Then, cut and paste the story map URL (link) in your discussion forum for sharing and comments.
For this format, you will need to be creative! Use the material in the digital or physical collections to assemble evidence that supports your answer to the question. It may come from a single collection, or it may come from multiple collections.
1. Visit the UI Library digital collections online (https://www.lib.uidaho.edu/digital/) or physically go to the UI Library, Room 121, the Special Collections Reading Room.
2. Look through the primary sources available there to find evidence that supports your answer to the question.
Examples of possible Collections to look at:
- Dams and Hydropower system
- Water issues
- You can also search the physical special collections here.
3. Through screenshots or in some other form, capture the collection item on a powerpoint slide and assemble the slides to answer the questions. Use the "notes" capability to annotate the slides with why this item supports your answer.
4. Save the file and share it.
To complete this assignment:
- Submit your powerpoint file (link) for grading above.
- Then, ? in your discussion forum for sharing and comments.