LibGuides: Chemical Engineering: Chemical Properties

Chemical Engineering Reference Resources, Handbooks, and Websites

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Ref Desk QD65.H3 (most recent year)
Ref QD65.H3 (most recent year)
Main Stacks QD65.H3 (older editions)

The reference section is located on the 1st floor of the library. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification system.

Dictionary of Organic Compounds
UI Library Reference Collection (non-circulating) (Ref QD251.H45 1996 )
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Online access (2003)
Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
Ref QD5.C5 2007
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
UI Library Reference Collection (non-circulating) (Ref TP9.E685 2004 )
Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
Ref RS51.M4 2013
Main Stacks RS51.M4 2013
Perry's chemical engineers' handbook
AVAILABLE ONLINE
Property Data Index (ASU Libraries)
The index on the right side of the page is especially useful for locating resources containing the property of interest. Check the University of Idaho catalog for print resources listed in this index - http://www.lib.uidaho.edu/find/books.html
Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materials.
Ref T55.3.H3S3
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Free web resource created by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Index Chemicus
Covering more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, Index Chemicus® is text- and substructure-searchable, and offers full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information
Coverage: 1994 - present

Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
A clearinghouse of different ways to get to MSDS

US Chemical Safety Board
The CSB is an independent federal agency charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents.

Books are located on the 2nd (T-Z), 3rd (H-S), and 4th (A-G) floors organized by the Library of Congress Classification system.

Call Number Areas to Browse

To find library items

Take a look at our library floor maps