LibGuides: Open Access, Scholarly Communication, and Copyright: Open Access Resources

Open Access Resources

The following sites are examples of open access resources available to everyone.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
OpenDOAR
An authoritative online directory of open access repositories.
Open Courseware Initiative (MIT)
This site hosts freely-available educational materials which are specifically meant to be copied and used by faculty members for non-commercial purposes.
Wiley Open Access
Open access journals from one of the largest publishers.
Springer Open
Open access journals from one of the largest publishers.

arXiv
Provides open access to more than 760,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
BioMed Central
An open access publisher of 256 peer-reviewed open access biological and medical journals.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
An open access non-profit publisher of scientific journal articles.

Agricola (USDA National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+s records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
Coverage: 1985-present

CiteSeerX
A digital library and search engine focused on computer and information science.
Defense Technical Information Center
A searchable repository for all publicly accessible DOD science and technical research.
PubChem
The three databases in PubChem provide information on the biological activities of small molecules.

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and on-line books, free full text is linked to when available.

TRID (TRIS & ITRD)
This tool searches both the Transportation Research Board's TRIS and Joint Research Centre's ITRD databases.
Universal Biological Indexer and Organizer (UbIO)
Uses names and taxonomic intelligence about organisms.

ERIC
A comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of free ebooks made available because of expired copyright.
Smithsonian Institute
Working to increase a diffusion of knowledge, the Smithsonian provides a breadth of free online resources.
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
The national library has a large collection of digital images and other media.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Images from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
University of Idaho Libraries Digital Initiatives
The Digital Initiatives department works to preserve and make accessible collections from the library, the University of Idaho, and the State of Idaho via its digitization, database, and digital archiving services.