Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Open Access?
Open access (OA) is the practice of providing free, unrestricted access to content via the internet, most commonly to scholarly journal articles.
OA removes price barriers between users and content and is compatible with peer review, copyright, preservation, and quality associated with conventional scholarly literature.
Want to learn more? Read Peter Suber's overview of open access.
UI Open Access Resources
UI Library Digital Collections
Main website to search the UI Library's Digital Collections.
U of I Theses and Dissertations Digital Collection
An open access repository of theses and dissertations from University of Idaho graduate students. The collection includes complete electronic theses and dissertations submitted since approximately 2014, as well as, digitized copies of earlier documents going back to 1910.
Idaho Waters Digital Library
The Idaho Waters Digital Library provides access to information resources relating to water issues in key Idaho river basins. The collection presently includes scientific and technical reports, with an emphasis on Idaho Water Resources Research Institute reports and publications. This centralized digital repository provides a searchable interface for discovery and utilization of water resources documents.
University of Idaho Extension and Idaho Agricultural Experiment Station Collection
A digital collection comprised of documents published by the University of Idaho Extension department and the Idaho Agricultural Experiment Station from 1892 to the present. The web site contains full text to provide enhanced access to the most significant literature of Idaho's agricultural history.
Intermountain Forestry Cooperative
A collection of reports, studies, and documents published by the Intermountain Forestry Cooperative, a research cooperative composed of public and private forestry organizations that is located administratively in the College of Natural Resources at the University of Idaho.
Gem of the Mountains
Annual publication of the associated students of the University of Idaho at Moscow.