Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Latah County Historical Resources: Library Resources

Special Collections and Archives

The UI Special Collections and Archives contains many collections directly related to Latah County history. Though most are only available in the Special Collections Reading Room, complete finding aids or catalog records for the collections are available electronically. 

Relevant collections include:

Special Collections also contains various collections left by prominent citizens of Idaho, including letters, diaries, photographs, and business records. A full list of Manuscript and Archive collections can be found on the Library website. Materials related to Latah County history can also be found in the University Archives collections. 

For more information about UI Special Collections and Archives, including location, hours, and policies, visit their website. 

Digital Initiatives Collections

The UI Digital Initiatives department works to preserve and make accessible collections from the library, the University of Idaho, and the State of Idaho via its digitization, database, and digital archiving services. All collections are fully accessible online to all library patrons. 

Relevant digital collections include:

Visit the Digital Initiatives website for a full list of digital collections 

books

Idaho and Local Newspapers in the Library

The UI Library subscribes to many Idaho newspapers. Check with the Reference Desk for information on specific issues and dates. A full list of Idaho and local newspapers can be found on the library website. Only the most current issues are kept in paper. Most back issues are saved on microfilm. A full index of Idaho newspapers on microfilm, containing dates and reel numbers, can also be found on the library website. All print newspapers, microfilm reels, and readers are located on the 2nd floor of the library.