LibGuides: Food and Nutrition: Articles

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Ask Us!

Call: (208)885-6584

Email: libref@uidaho.edu

Text: (208) 449-0841

Need help getting started? Try our
Research Assistance Program

Food and Nutrition Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the University of Idaho library, related to the subject of Food and Nutrition. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.

Agricola (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, primarily covering the subjects of agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

AltHealthWatch (Ebsco)
This alternative health database provides full text for more than 160 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
ERIC (Ebsco)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco)
PsychINFO (Ebsco)

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
CABDirect - CAB Abstracts Archive This link opens in a new window
Our subscription includes CAB Abstracts (1973-current), Global Health (1973-current), and CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973). Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. This database includes many article citations we don
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
PQDT-Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT-Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. Mos articles are available in full text.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
Biosis Previews
Online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM, BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological literature and contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research. 1969 - present.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias, over 550 consumer health related periodicals, and numerous other types of information, including animations, videos, images, diagrams, and health reports.
Content covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream wellness to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Important: Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
SRM provides access to 750+ books, encyclopedias and journal articles as well as innovative features, such as the Methods Map visual browse tool using a custom taxonomy of 770+ methods terms, with information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is the world's most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works. Coverage includes articles in the disciplines of biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. University of Idaho has full text access to over 2200 journals and 1400 ebooks in SpringerLink.

Is my Article Peer Reviewed?

1. Check if your journal is peer reviewed

Search for your title in Ulrich's Global Serials Directory
When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol. The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).

2. If the journal is peer reviewed, then assess the article

Is it a full research article? If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.

Research Guides

Food and Nutrition: Articles

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

Ask Us!

Food and Nutrition Databases

Is my Article Peer Reviewed?