LibGuides: Food and Nutrition: Books

Food and Nutrition: Reference Books

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
Ref TX349.B4 2006
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used
Ref TX551.B68; Older issues in Main Stacks
Dictionary of food Compounds: Additives, flavors, and ingredients
Ref TP368.2.D53 2004
Dictionary of Food Ingredients
Ref TX551.I26 2001
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Ref GT2850.E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Ref TP368.2.E63 2003
Food Additives Data Book
Ref TX553.A3F573 2003
Food Analysis
Ref TX545.F54 2003
Food Chemicals Codex
Ref TX553.A3F66; Older issues in Main Stacks
Food Labeling--Requirements for FDA Regulated Products
Ref TX551.V48 2007
Handbook of Food Science, Technology, and Engineering
Ref TP370.4.H38 2006
Multicultural handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics
Online resource
Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary
Ref RM217.L34 2004
The Oxford Book of Health Foods
Ref TX369.V38 2003
The Penguin Companion to Food
Ref TX349.D37 2002

Search the Library Catalog

Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:

Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only (items owned only by the UI Library).
Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.

Browse Our Food and Nutrition Books

Books in the Main Stacks are located on the 2nd (T-Z), 3rd (H-S), and 4th (A-G) floors organized by the Library of Congress Classification system.

Books in the Reference section are located on the 1st floor of the library. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification system. Their call numbers begin with REF. These books may be used in the library only.

Call Number Areas to Browse in the Main Stacks

Description	Call #
Food and food supply in relation to public health	RA 601-602
Personal health and hygiene	RA 773-788
Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases.	RC 620-627
Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents	RJ 206-235
Pharmacology, Nutrition, Physical Therapy	RM 215-258
Food crops	SB 175-177
Food processing and manufacture	TP 368-456
Nutrition. Foods and food supply	TX 341-641

Accessing Ebooks

Ebooks can be accessed through our library catalog. For more information about Ebooks, including how to download them, please visit our finding eBook guide.

Some ebook packages will require downloading Adobe Digital Editions (free computer download) or the Bluefire App (fire mobile phone app in the iTunes store or the Android Store).

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Floor Maps

To find library items

Take a look at our library floor maps

Research Guides

Food and Nutrition: Books