LibGuides: Architecture 385: Finding Articles

JSAH

Your assignment asks you to create a title similar to those found in JSAH. JSAH is the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, available through the UI Library's JSTOR database. Click here for a list of past issues' content in full-text; note that you can use the search box at the top of that page to specifically search that journal only. All of the articles from this journal are considered scholarly.

Browse Architecture Journals @ UI

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Citing Books

Need help citing resources for a paper?

Try using Purdue University's Online Writing Program, which features a description of various citation styles and examples: see their APA Guide or MLA Guide for help. Examples for reference lists/bibliographies and in-text citations are listed in the left-hand sidebar of each page.

Architecture-Specific Article Databases @ UI

Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
Comprehensive architecture & design index which includes citations to articles published in over 2,500 international architecture journals. Many citations are not indexed in other databases, and full-text may only be available in journals to which the University of Idaho does not subscribe, so be aware that InterLibrary Loan may be necessary in some cases.
BuildingGreen Suite
"Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources".
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Interdisciplinary Article Databases @ UI

Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes approximately 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences with citations to more than 1,100,000 articles including book reviews. Covers the following print indexes: International Index (1907-1965), Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974), Humanities Index (1974-1984), and Social Sciences Index (1974-1983).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete image backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The UI subscription includes all JSTOR titles with the exception of the Ireland Collection and 19th Century British Pamphlets. With a few exceptions, JSTOR titles do not include current issues. There is a moving wall of 3-5 years, depending on title, for which the latest issues are not available. Complete title list.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Includes basic and advanced search. Can browse by collection or journal title. Complete title list at: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The University of Idaho Library has subscription access to articles for over 3,500 Science Direct journals. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from 'non-subscribed' journals as well.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.