LibGuides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Article Databases

Family and Consumer Sciences Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the University of Idaho library, related to the subjects within Family and Consumer Studies.

ABI/INFORM Global
Offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Provides information about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,890 publications, with more than 1,920 available in full text.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Agricola
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, primarily covering the subjects of agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. Coverage includes access to all published Annual Reviews, with backfile access from v. 1 to present.

Berg Fashion Library (now Bloomsbury Fashion Central)
Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
CABDirect - CAB Abstracts Archive This link opens in a new window
Our subscription includes CAB Abstracts (1973-current), Global Health (1973-current), and CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973). Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. This database includes many article citations we don

Dissertations and Thesis Full Text
Dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The University of Idaho Library has subscription access to articles for over 3,500 Science Direct journals. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from 'non-subscribed' journals as well.

ERIC
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature. The EBSCO version provides access to ERIC Document citations and ERIC Journal citations.
JSTOR
Complete backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, mostly full-text. Open the "Advanced Search" link to search by keyword and limit by discipline.
Medline
A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. Many Medline articles are available only at other libraries and need to be ordered through interlibrary loan. Also see PubMed and FirstSearch Medline versions.
PsychINFO
Scholarly index covering psychology and psychiatry which provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.

Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 670 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
SRM provides access to 750+ books, encyclopedias and journal articles as well as innovative features, such as the Methods Map visual browse tool using a custom taxonomy of 770+ methods terms, with information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.

Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. 1980 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes the entire archive of Vogue (US), beginning with the first issue in 1892. This searchable full-color database covers a number of subjects, including textiles and fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, marketing and advertising.

Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Evaluating Resources

CRAAP test video

You can use the "CRAAP" test to help you evaluate the information sources you find.

Currency – How up-to-date is the information? Is the date appropriate for your topic?

Relevance – Is the information directly about your topic? Is it too simple? Too complex? What audience is this written for?

Authority – Who is the author? What are his/her credentials? Why should you believe the author?

Accuracy – Where does the information come from? Are there references or a bibliography? Is the information consistent with unrelated sources? Does the appearance seem professional?

Purpose – Why was this information published? What audience is this written for? Is there a commercial or persuasive purpose?

Research Guides

Family and Consumer Sciences: Article Databases