LibGuides: Political Science: Find Government Information

Research Tip

When searching in Google or another search engine, using a country's specific government domain extension can help you restrict your results to sources from a particular country's government websites.

For example: "climate change" site:.gov would show you results from U.S. government websites that mentioned "climate change".

Online Federal Government Information

GovInfo.gov
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Congressional Research Service: CRS Reports
This collection provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing access to a variety of sources related to homeland security, HSDL also provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports related to homeland security topics.

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS): University of North Texas
Collection of CRS Reports back to 1969. The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries
Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information including the Congressional Record, Committee documents, navigating a bill, and more.
United States Senate
Search for Senate bills, members, debates, and voting records.
U. S. House of Representatives
Search for House bills, representatives, debates, and voting records.
Supreme Court of the United States
Provides access to opinions, orders, docket, Court calendars, transcripts, schedules, rules, visitors’ guides, case-handling guides, press releases and other general information.
The White House
Information on current issues, the administration, and the government.
USA.gov
Get services, explore topics, find government agencies, and contact the government.

Online State Government Information

Idaho.gov
Created by The State of Idaho to benefit businesses and private citizens, this is the website to turn to for information and services from Idaho government.
Idaho Legislature
The Idaho Legislature is responsible for translating the public will into policy for the state, levying taxes, appropriating public funds, and overseeing the administration of state agencies.
Idaho Laws and Rules
Provides details on Idaho statutes, session laws, administrative rules, Senate and House rules, joint rules, and the Idaho Constitution.
Idaho Supreme Court
The Supreme Court is the highest court in the state of Idaho, composed of five justices elected in a non-partisan election for six-year terms. Search opinions, rules, news, and more on the Supreme Court website.

International Government Information

United Nations Documents
From this page you can access the UN Official Document System (ODS) as well as the United Nations Digital Library.

The UN Official Document System (ODS) provides access to the full-text of UN documents including those created by the "Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries."

The United Nations Digital Library is a catalog of UN documents and publications, with and without the full-text available.

Visit the UN Documentation research guide to learn more about UN document symbols as well as the types of UN documents that are available online.

European Union
The official website of the European Union.
Foreign and International Law Resources Database
Publications of the American Society of International Law. 400+ titles. (UI Affiliates Only)

Research Guides

Political Science: Find Government Information

Research Tip

Online Federal Government Information

Online State Government Information

International Government Information