LibGuides: Animal and Veterinary Science: Article Databases

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Animal and Veterinary Science Databases

Agricola
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, primarily covering the subjects of agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
CAB Direct
Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Science Direct
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters
Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
BioOne
BioOne provides a collection of peer-reviewed, high quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Biosis Previews
Online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM, BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological literature and contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research. 1969 - present.
Dissertations and Thesis Full Text
PQDT-Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology.
SciFinder (first time users must register for access)
The most comprehensive database for scholarly research in chemistry. Provides access to the Chemical Abstracts database. In addition to keyword, subject and author searching, you may also search by chemical structure, chemical formula, CAS Registry number and patent number; search Medline at the same time that you search Chemical Abstracts; and look at the tables of contents of journals indexed by Chemical Abstracts.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935 & earlier to present), produced by NISC, is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Research Guides

Animal and Veterinary Science: Article Databases

Research Companion

Finding Full Text Articles

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

Animal and Veterinary Science Databases

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?