LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Articles

Mechanical Engineering Databases

Link to UI Engineering Database List
Provides a list of all Engineering databases available from the University of Idaho.
Google Scholar
Accessing Google Scholar via the Library's website is the most reliable way to avoid paywalls.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
NTIS serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. NTIS gives access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
IEEE Xplore
Provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, active IEEE standards.
Coverage: 1988 present, with select content published since 1893
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library
Online access to more than 500 titles in "numerous content areas, including Bioengineering, Power & Energy, and Communication Technologies, among other growing areas of research".
Coverage: 1974-2012

Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only (items owned only by the UI Library).
Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article. Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext.

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.