Skip to main content



Mechanical Engineering: Books

This is a guide to mechanical engineering resources at the University of Idaho Library.

How do I Request a Book?

  1. Locate your book by searching our library catalog
  2. To view availability, click on Find it, and then Request (if the item is not available in our library). 
  3. Enter your user id and password.
  4. Verify that your request is complete and submit
  5. You will be notified when your book has arrived

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

  1. Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
  2. If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
  3. Enter your user name and password.
  4. Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
  5. A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Accessing Ebooks

Ebooks can be accessed through our library catalog . For more information about Ebooks, including how to download them, please visit our ebook LibGuide.

Some ebook packages will require downloading Adobe Digital Editions (free computer download) or the Bluefire App (fire mobile phone app in the iTunes store or the Android Store). 

Floor Maps

To find library items

Take a look at our library floor maps

Search the Library Catalog

Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:

  • Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only (items owned only by the UI Library).   
  • Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
  • On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
  • Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.

Mechanical Engineering Call Numbers

This is only a partial list of the call numbers pertaining to Computer Science. For a complete listing, go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline, provided by the Cataloging Policy and Support Office of the Library of Congress.

Search for books (including the e-book collection) using the library catalog.

Call Number Areas to Browse

Description

Call # Areas

Engineering design

T353, TA174

Fluid Mechanics

TA357

Fracture mechanics

TA409

Heat Engineering

TJ260-TJ265

Mechanical engineering

TJ144-TJ159

Mechanics

TA350, TA352

Mechanics, Applied

TA350, TA405

Thermodynamics

TJ268, TJ756

Library of Congress Classifications For Engineering

Q
Science
TC
Hydraulic engineering
Q180
Operations research
TD
Environmental engineering
Q300-390
Artificial intelligence
TE
Highway engineering
QA
Mathematics
TF
Railroad engineering & operations
QA75-76
Computer Science
TG
Bridge engineering
QA801-939
Analytical mechanics.
Fluid mechanics
TH
Building construction
QC
Physics
TJ
Mechanical Engineering & Machinery
QD
Chemistry
TJ163
Power Resources
QE
Geology
TJ210.2-225
Robotics
R
Medicine
TK
Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering.
R856-857
Biomechanical engineering
TK5101-6720
Telecommunications
T
Technology
TK7800-8360
Electronics
T55.4-60.8
Industrial engineering
TK9001-9401
Nuclear Engineering
T385
Computer graphics
TL
Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TA
Engineering (general).
Civil engineering
TN
Mining engineering. Metallurgy
TA349-359
Mechanics of engineering
TP
Chemical technology
TA401-492
Materials of engineering & construction
TS
Manufacturing
TA630-820
Structural engineering. Geotechnical engineering
VM
Naval architecture. Marine engineering

Recommended Books

Description

Call #

Handbook of Hydraulic Fluid Technology

TJ 843 H36 2000

Handbook of Noise and Vibration Control

TD 892 H353 2007

Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers

TJ 151 M37 2007

Mechanical Engineers’ Handbook. (Kutz)

TJ 151 M395 2006

Mechanical Engineers’ Handbook. (Marghitu)

TJ 151 M396 2001

Mechatronics Handbook

TJ 163.12 M433 2008

Modern Control Systems

TJ 216 D67 2008

Piping Handbook

TJ 415 P54 2000

Pressure Vessel Design Manual

TA 660 T34 M68 2004

Pressure Vessel Handbook

TS283 M37 2008

SAE Handbook

CD-ROM TL 1 S6 2006-2009;
TL 1 S6 3 vols., varying years (print)

Standard Handbook of Machine Design

TJ 230 S8235 2004

Valve Selection Handbook.

NetLibrary ebook

Selected Reference Titles

The reference section is located on the 1st floor of the library. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification scheme. Call numbers beginning with Ref are in the reference section and cannot be checked out.

Title/Description

Call #

ASHRAE Handbook. Fundamentals

Ref TH7011 A412a pt.1, pt. 2 2009

ASHRAE Handbook. HVAC Applications

Ref TH7011 A412f pt.1, pt. 2 2007

ASHRAE Handbook. HVAC Systems & Equipment

Ref TH7011 A412g pt.1, pt. 2 2008

ASHRAE Handbook. Refrigeration

Ref TH7011 A412e pt.1, pt. 2 2006

CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering

Ref TJ 151 CC73 2005

Machinery’s Handbook

Ref TJ 151 M3 2000

Machinery’s Handbook Guide

Ref TJ 151 M32 2000

Piping Databook

Ref TJ 415 N39 2002